It’s Not All Mary Poppins

New Baby!

I’ve signed on a new baby to start in January!!! Deposit cheque deposited, contract signed, and two visiting days under our belts. The conclusion?

A lovely, lovely baby. With a very nice mommy. Daddy seems terrific, too, though I’ve seen less of him. I think this will change in January, when mommy is back to work.

Let’s see… She’s small for her age, and active. ACTIVE. Not crazy-going-to-kill-myself active. This is coordinated, athletic active.

“Mary! Mary, Baby Girl is standing on the chair!”

“Yes, Emily, I see that. I’ve been watching her, and I think it’s safe for her.”

“Baby Lily isn’t allowed to stand on the chairs.”

“That’s true. That’s because Baby Lily doesn’t pay attention to the edges, and she’s liable to fall. Baby Girl knows exactly where those edges are. I think it’s safe for her to stand on the chair.”

“But Baby Lily is BIGGER!”

“I KNOW! Isn’t that WEIRD??”

I get The Look. The one that says, “I think you’re mocking me, but I can’t quite figure out how, so I shall not Deign to Reply.” Hee.

New Baby Girl is small, she is quick, she is coordinated, she is quicksilver. She’s still a bit unnerved to be here, but she’s willing to be distracted and/or soothed. She likes the stroller and looooooves to be outside, so outside we go.

She can talk, though we don’t hear much yet, since she keeps her soother firmly in place.

That’s okay. She’s new.

She doesn’t eat, at all. Offer her food and she reacts in strident indignation. Outrage, even. It’s easy to see why she’s small. Food is just not significant to her.

That’s okay, too. She knows what she needs. She’ll eat when she’s relaxed and familiar in this new place.

But she does snuggle, and she does sit on my lap, and she does calm when I soothe her. She watches the other children, she interacts, and she thinks Emily is the most wonderfullest.

“I am like the Big Sister to the new baby.”

“I think you are, Emily. You’ve had lots of practice with Tyler, so you are a very good big sister.”

So Emily is wonderful. And Emily’s belly button? THE BEST THING EVER!!!! New Baby Girl hunts Emily down, grabs her shirt and yoinks it out of the way so as to poke a tiny finger into the button on that so-round belly. Poke, poke, poke.

Which Emily thinks is HYSTERICAL, so it’s all good.

New Baby Girl is a hoot.

October 26, 2010 - Posted by | Emily

7 Comments »

  1. YAY!!!! She sounds wonderful!!!

    That’s what I’m thinking!

    Comment by MJ | October 28, 2010 | Reply

  2. That is adorable! Congrats on the new baby girl! Now you just need to come up with a fitting moniker. How about Amanda? In Sanskrit it means active & bright, and in Latin it means loveable.

    I do need a moniker. I’m mulling over a few possibilities, but mostly waiting for that flash of inspiration. It was Emma who thought of Lily’s (perfect!) blog-name; Grace is my choice, and also feels just right for the child. I love it when the name comes to me and I say, “YES! Perfect!” Sometimes the pseudonym feels so right I occasionally call the child by that instead of their real name.

    (Yes, I can so tell the difference between fantasy and reality!)

    Comment by secretlysarah | October 28, 2010 | Reply

  3. Lovely story – made me chuckle all the way through, especially when I got to the bit about the bellybutton. Thanks for cheering me up at the end of a difficult day!

    Oh, you’re welcome! It’s nice to hear I made a positive impact on someone’s day. 🙂 I have really cute photos, too, which I wish I could show you all.

    Comment by Altissima | October 29, 2010 | Reply

  4. My daughter walked and talked at 9 months – the talking I encouraged, the walking I did NOT. I think walking then just can’t be good for their bones. Ne’er-the-less, walk she did. I was very grateful that, like New Baby, she had an innate sense of what she could do. She’d go right to the edge, but never balance over. Made life easy. Unless the baby I looked after was with us, ’cause she didn’t share the self-preservation instincts. Made life tricky at times!

    I like New Baby already, I’m glad she’s signed on.

    Yes, I recall reading that the crawling stage is an important one for strengthening the spine, or some such, and that getting upright too early can be hard on the lower back. (Don’t cite me on this! It’s a vague memory, which I could have 2/3 wrong!)

    The physically skilled ones often come with the matching skill of awareness of their body in space. Often, but, as we know, not always. There are those heart-in-throat daredevils who just don’t seem to get it… but you know, even those? Though they take more than their share of bumps and bruises, they don’t generally do things that are outright life-threatening, so even there, though unnerving for the monitoring adult, the child is okay. Which is not to say the adults don’t keep a very ALERT eye on these little monkeys!

    So far the less-skilled babies are watching, but not emulating New Baby’s antics. I hope this continues!

    Comment by Maisy | October 29, 2010 | Reply

  5. Can’t wait to hear more stories , particularly ones involving Baby and Emily. Have you thought of a blog name yet? She can’t be New Baby forever.

    She can’t, indeed. She’ll be New Baby for a little while, till I get a fuller sense of her personality. I don’t think that’ll take as long as some, though, because this girl? She has a TON of personality! 🙂

    Comment by jwg | October 29, 2010 | Reply

  6. My eldest is athletic with no sense of self preservation. He had constant black eyes and facial bruises from 11-18 months. My youngest is not as athletic but IS a climber and knows where the edges are. He has climbed the wing chairs to get on an end table, he has climbed to the top of the piano, he climbs picnic tables and stairs and dressers and shelves and ladders… And at 14 months still hasn’t had a single bruise.

    Sounds like new Baby & my Quinn would be quite a pair. Mutt & Jeff.

    Comment by Rayne of Terror | October 29, 2010 | Reply

  7. My oldest was the same – climbed everything, without incident. Now she’s a rock-climber. Still climbing everything, without major incident. Sigh.

    Comment by mamadragon | October 29, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

