It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Back

I’ve been gone. Personal stuff, of the excruciating variety. Resolved now.

Lest anyone’s thoughts go in the wrong direction: I have the Most Wonderful Husband on earth, and, as with every previous crisis we’ve weathered, we met this one shoulder to shoulder. I cannot express to you how grateful I am for this relationship with this man. And Emma? She is the Easiest, Wisest, Kindest Nicest Damned Teen on the Planet.

So no, it wasn’t anything of that nature. Other stuff. Resolved. Not in the way I’d have chosen, but the choice was not mine, and I’ll be fine. We’ll be fine.

And I think I’m ready to join the blogging world again. If there’s still anyone here, thanks for hanging in!

November 17, 2010 - Posted by | the dark side

17 Comments »

  1. I’m sorry things have been rough and I am so glad you are back and things are settling. I am a former daycare provider / current preschool teacher and I love your blog so I am happy you aren’t gone for good!!

    A little shell-shocked and battle-weary, but not gone! And glad to be back.

    Comment by patti | November 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. Virtual hugs Mary. I’m so happy you are back!

    Thank you. Me, too!

    Comment by Jess | November 17, 2010 | Reply

  3. We’re here. Glad to have you back.

    Now, is there any snow? I want pics of cute tots playing in snow!

    No snow. Rain today, and lots of it. Snow in the forecast for later this week, but we’ll see when we get there. If it does fall, it might not stick around. Normally there isn’t much of an accumulation until mid-December. But when we get it, you’ll get pictures!

    Comment by Jill in Atlanta | November 17, 2010 | Reply

  4. You’ve been missed. I’m glad you have that shoulder and that fantastic teen. Welcome back!

    I am profoundly grateful to the two of them, and to my other kids offering support from further away. Thank you.

    Comment by ClumberKim | November 17, 2010 | Reply

  5. Mary, I am glad you are back.

    Glad to be back! Or rather, happy to be able to be writing again.

    Comment by Marci | November 17, 2010 | Reply

  6. Glad to hear that you are back and hoping whatever had you gone doesn’t take too much of a toll. I’ve missed you. A good majority of my pearls of child wrangling wisdom have come from you.

    I’m hurting. Not as much as others who were also involved, though, and I’m pretty resilient. One step at a time, right? Just keep doing what needs to be done, and it gets better. I’m heartened to know I’ve been so helpful to you. That’s motivation to keep writing!

    Comment by Dani | November 17, 2010 | Reply

  7. Glad you are back. Sorry things didn’t go the way you would have liked.

    Not the way I think would have been best, but I can still hope for the best; very few things in life are totally irredeemable, after all. We shall see.

    Comment by Bethany | November 17, 2010 | Reply

  8. Oh, Mary, I’m so sorry for your excruciating issue! I had been wondering since you hadn’t written for a while & I’m so happy to see you back. Glad to hear you’ve got such a great support network & know I’m (& probably lots of your other readers are) sending healing & recovery & heartening thoughts your way!

    Thank you. I do appreciate it.

    Comment by Ms. Huis Herself | November 17, 2010 | Reply

  9. Welcome back. I wish there was some way to help, but glad to know you’ve got great support. Be well!

    No way to help, but I appreciate the thought! Thank you.

    Comment by Chelsea | November 17, 2010 | Reply

  10. Missed you! I’m glad you’re back, and have weathered the storm 🙂 (what does not kill us makes us stronger?)

    Comment by kateohkatie | November 17, 2010 | Reply

  11. Wish I could wave a magic wand and make it better. Welcome back, you were missed.

    Where are the magic wands when you need them? Good to be back.

    Comment by jwg | November 17, 2010 | Reply

  12. Oh goodness, I’m so sorry you had to go through whatever it was. I love finding a new post here so please do keep at it, when you can. Really glad the excruciating-ness is at least fading.

    Thank you. More posts to come, I’m sure!

    Comment by Sarah | November 17, 2010 | Reply

  13. So glad to see something today! I missed you and decided if I didn’t see something today I’d start worrying!

    Comment by Candace | November 18, 2010 | Reply

  14. Glad you’re back – have missed you! Praying the hurt heals for all involved.

    Comment by Gillian | November 19, 2010 | Reply

  15. sorry things have been rough, but glad you’re back!

    Comment by MJ | November 19, 2010 | Reply

  16. SO glad you’re back, Mary P!

    Comment by LoryKC | November 19, 2010 | Reply

  17. Hope everything is OK! And good to hear you’ve got your family to keep you upright.

    Comment by Sylvia | November 20, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

