It’s Not All Mary Poppins

The best medicine

Have you all heard of “Damn You, Auto Correct!” ?

I hadn’t, not before yesterday morning. Oh, my lord, that site is FUNNY.

Laugh-out-loud funny.

Pee-yourself-laughing funny.

Laugh till you cry funny.

Note that last item. If you’ve had a seriously awful time of it lately, if you’ve been putting on a good face and just plodding through it, one foot ahead of the other, if you’ve been feeling life is pretty damned unfair, all in all, and the world shockingly lacking in compassion …

If any of that is true, you might just find yourself laughing, and then laughing till the tears run down your face, and then you might suddenly notice the tears have turned to sobs which shudder through your whole body. Could be you’ll sob until there are no more tears, just the silent, heaving shudders. (Because, you know, you don’t want to be waking people at five in the morning just because that’s when you wake.)

And you might, at the end of all that…

You might feel a whole helluva lot better. You’ll look like hell, mind you, blotchy and swollen and red-rimmed and snotty, but you’ll feel fifty pounds lighter, and you just might feel like you can breathe for the first time in weeks.

It’s not always easy medicine, but it sure is effective.

And is that not the funniest damned site you’ve ever encountered?

😀

November 18, 2010 - Posted by | the dark side | ,

15 Comments »

  1. http://www.shitmykidsruined.com

    I die laughing every time (and sooooo happy my kids never participated in poo art)

    Comment by QandleQueen | November 18, 2010 | Reply

  2. Oh my… I should not have tried to read that site while eating my breakfast… choke!

    Congrats on the good cry. My Grandpa used to say that if women couldn’t cry, they would just explode. It is so cathartic sometimes. I’ve always wished I could do it without wrecking my face, though…

    Yes, I feel ever so much better. And now (a day later), I look just fine again, too… 😛

    Comment by rosie_kate | November 18, 2010 | Reply

  3. I hope it was a good, cleansing, cry.

    Also, PENIS BUTTER. Hee!

    It was! Phew. And YES, Hee!

    Comment by daysgoby | November 18, 2010 | Reply

  4. I love that site! You should really check out “texts from last night”. Not very pc, or polite, but too funny for words.

    I’ve heard of that one, but haven’t been there for ages. It’s the perfect object lesson for “Why We Don’t Drink and Text”. Heh.

    Comment by Tammy | November 18, 2010 | Reply

  5. Thank you. That is a wonderful site.

    It is, indeed!

    Comment by Bridgett | November 18, 2010 | Reply

  6. What a great site. Some of them are truly hilarious. Glad you’re feeling better. 😀

    Comment by Sheri | November 18, 2010 | Reply

  7. That site is the best! I really did cry I was laughing so hard!!

    Comment by Cindy | November 18, 2010 | Reply

  8. I read an article or a study or something that said a cry really does end up releasing feel-better hormones. So a cleansing cry really does cleanse!

    Comment by Candace | November 18, 2010 | Reply

  9. I find a good cry always helps. Mine usually comes after a sappy tv show. I recall Brian being very concerned when I would not stop crying after an ER episode one time. For like two hours I heaved these giant wracking sobs. But I really really felt better afterward.

    Comment by Dani | November 18, 2010 | Reply

  10. As a dog lover, you might enjoy (or empathize) with this cartoon. I really laughed.

    http://hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com/2010/11/dogs-dont-understand-basic-concepts.html

    Comment by Laura | November 18, 2010 | Reply

  11. OMG Laura, that literally dog post/cartoon made me laugh out loud. I haven’t laughed that long in a while.

    Comment by Dani | November 19, 2010 | Reply

  12. VERY funny, thank you! Recently, my iPhone tried to connect my “yippeeee!” to “Tipperary!”

    Comment by Carolie | November 20, 2010 | Reply

  13. Oh, and for more laughter, try slushpilehell.tumblr.com

    Hope you are ok, and the cathartic tears helped.

    Comment by Carolie | November 20, 2010 | Reply

  14. Thank you for this–I’m going through a dark spell of my own, and this definitely helped. I hope your troubles go away quickly, and we’re glad you have you back!

    Comment by Leigh | November 23, 2010 | Reply

  15. Regretsy. It’s compiled of stuff that’s actually posted on Etsy. It will make you weep with laughter!
    http://www.regretsy.com

    Comment by shannon | November 24, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

