It’s Not All Mary Poppins

But why?

Four times in the past ten days, I’ve received an email asking if I would allow someone or other to write a “guest blog” on “Day Care Daze”.

I learn two things from the request:

1. Whoever they are, they don’t know much about blogging. The entire thing is the “blog”. One article is a “post”. What they want to provide is called a “guest post”. Not a big deal, perhaps, but why would I surrender my blog to someone who doesn’t even have the terminology?

2. They don’t read the blog. “Day Care Daze” is the URL, not the name of my blog.

Moreover, they’ve told me very little about themselves, given only the most general indication of their topic, and none of them provided links to samples their writing. (Indicating either they’re not very savvy, or, more likely, they haven’t written elsewhere.) So, I’m supposed to hand the blog over to an inexperienced someone to say… something… without even knowing if they can say it well? Without their even having attempted to explain why I might want to do this? If you don’t have a blog, you don’t have a readership; you’re not going to bring readers my way. In other words: what’s in it for me? Why would I do this? Why would you think I’d be interested? This is just so weird.

“Hi there! I’m a total stranger, I’ve probably never read your blog (certainly I’ve never once commented), and I don’t have a blog of my own, but I want you to let me post on your blog!!!” (And, said one particularly confident young man, I will do this FREE OF CHARGE!!) Whee!

Is there something I’m missing? Is this somehow not as presumptuous as I think it is?

December 17, 2010 - Posted by | Peeve me, random and odd

12 Comments »

  1. You’re right – it IS presumptuous. And kind of odd.

    My feelings exactly, but I did honestly wonder if I was missing something.

    Comment by Emily | December 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. Sounds to me as if they’re hoping to boost their own “blog-ebrity” and gather a few of your readers. …Free of charge..>:-D

    That was certainly true of one, who told me he’d be putting in a few back-links (he was the ‘free of charge’ guy), but I got the distinct impression that a couple of them didn’t even have blogs. The first guy, I get. The others, that’s just odd.

    Comment by C. | December 17, 2010 | Reply

  3. Are they trying to get hold of your login and password?

    No one suggested that, no. Not that I’d ever consider handing those over to a stranger! Heck, even my Wonderful Husband doesn’t have those!

    Comment by Altissima | December 17, 2010 | Reply

  4. I’ve had a few requests like that myself. Further investigation showed that they were a student at one of those dodgy “online universities”. I suspect it may be part of their curriculum, to write a guest post. Very sad.

    Either that, or someone is trying to get a free forum to advertise their services.

    Online university course requirement? Now that’s a possibility that had never come within a thousand miles of crossing my mind… One of them was definitely looking for advertising space, but the others were the puzzles. Maybe you’ve provided the key! Who knows?

    Comment by Merrilee | December 17, 2010 | Reply

  5. I can’t imagine any blogger allowing a guest post from such a request. Strange. Definitely strange. If not downright rude.

    Guest posts are given to those with whom you have some sort of relationship, and whose writing you know and respect. Moreover, they are generally offered by the host blogger, not solicited by the wannabe guest writer, unless the bloggers involved know each other very well. For a total stranger to request a spot on your blog is not only presumptuous, but also shows such complete lack of awareness of the forms, niceties, protocols of blogging — that’s just not how it’s done!! — that they pretty much preclude themselves from receiving an invitation right there.

    Comment by Maisy | December 18, 2010 | Reply

  6. 1. THANK YOU. That lack of distinction between the two terms rankles me to no end!

    I made that mistake myself, when I was a very newbie blogger, but it took me maybe a week to make the distinction. It doesn’t bother me when non-bloggers make that mistake (though I will correct them, if necessary), but in this instance? They should at least know something that basic.

    Comment by Candace | December 19, 2010 | Reply

  7. I think they’re marketers, trying to write and publish as many posts as possible that link back to the products/services they’re promoting.

    Reminds me of this, from the Bloggess:
    http://thebloggess.com/?p=9270

    That was certainly my thought, much as it astounds me that such an approach would actually work. Oh, and thanks for the link: That was hysterical!

    Comment by L. | December 20, 2010 | Reply

  8. I get the same requests all the time. I love it when they start out, “I’m a big fan of your blog” and then go on to show that they have no clue about my blog.

    I also get requests to review books. “I notice that you do book reviews” one that I got today said. Ummmm, I don’t do book reviews, so you didn’t notice that.

    Comment by Suzanne | December 31, 2010 | Reply

    • I should probably add, because I’m logged in as the wrong person, that I was referring to my Evil HR Lady blog and not the blog you’ll find linked under my name. :>)

      Too many web identities!

      Comment by Suzanne | December 31, 2010 | Reply

  9. I just wrote about something very similar but even more sinister today! I think SEO firms are actually pretending to be mom bloggers to trick people into giving them guest posts. I am 99% sure that I have had two of these approach me in the last month!

    http://www.tricia.me/2011/01/18/moms-beware-guest-posts/

    Comment by Tricia Meyer | January 18, 2011 | Reply

  10. I used to get dozens of requests for backlinks from my homepage but am seeing the trend shift to advertisers wanting you to host “free guest posts” if they provide “quality” content. I get about 10-20 guest articles per week and if I think the content is good, I copyscape scan it to see if it is original. In some cases I will accept the guest article even with a backlink to an advertiser if I think the content will be of value to my audience.

    Comment by Justin Germino | January 19, 2011 | Reply

  11. It has to be the new “thing” for the SEO experts to be doing. I get at least 2 pitches a week like this.

    Comment by Lisa | January 21, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

