It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Book Suggestions?

In her comment to yesterday’s post, IfByYes mentioned a book that I will definitely put on my reading list.

It occurs to me that it’s been a while since I’ve read any parenting books.

Now, the nice thing about having been raising children for as long as I have is that you develop an overview of theories and approaches. You don’t get bogged down in the minutia of one particular method, or worried that if you don’t follow it to the letter you’re going to RUIN THIS CHILD!!!! I just don’t do that any more. Not that I ever did it much, really, but I’m mellower now than I was twenty-five years ago, when I first started this whole parenting thing.

However, it is nice to know what’s floating about in the parenting ether out there. What are the ideas currently being promoted? What are the up-to-the-minute theories and philosophies? (Which very often turn out to be old ones, revisited, revamped, and spit-and-polished to mesh with current sensibilities. Another thing that a couple of decades perspective helps you see.)

Thanks to Carol, I have one book for my list. And it’s not as if I haven’t read a parenting book in ten years. But I’m curious: What are you guys reading? What’s the “It Book” for parents? Is there a new parenting guru bubbling to the top of the pontificating heap? (Even if you don’t really like their message, I’m curious to know what it is!)

Titles and authors! Any suggestions for me?

February 25, 2011 - Posted by | books, parenting

12 Comments »

  1. Nurtureshock by Po Bronsen. Knocks down parenting myths with data rich studies. Excellent.

    Comment by My Kids Mom | February 25, 2011 | Reply

  2. Nutureshock – One of the best “parenting” books I have ever read.

    Comment by Jessica | February 25, 2011 | Reply

  3. These are not new, but Kids are Worth it by Barbara Colorosso and Hold on to Your Kids by Gordon Neufeld and Gabor Mate continue to be two of my favourites.

    Comment by lisa | February 25, 2011 | Reply

  4. Lenore Skenazy’s “Free Range Kids”. Probably nothing new in there for you, but it is nice to read something that’s not focused on scaring parents about tiny risks for once!

    Comment by Robyn | February 25, 2011 | Reply

  5. I have also enjoyed The Philosophical Baby by Alison Gropnik. Not really a parenting book per se, more a tour through research on infant’s brains and the crazy things they’ve discovered, but she’s funny and witty and it’s very interesting.

    Comment by IfByYes | February 25, 2011 | Reply

  6. We just found out two weeks ago that we’re going to get to be parents of a baby girl — who is due in 9 weeks.

    (AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH! *ahem* Pardon me.)

    Now, I’ve been reading your blog for years, so I have some foundation (thankyouvermuch!), and I value your opinion. If one has time to only read one or two “parenting” books or “what to expect from newborn to 12 months,” what two books would you recommend?

    Two books for the immediate parenting time?

    1. The First Three Years of Life, by Burton White.
    (He has also written the wonderful “Raising a Happy, Unspoiled Child“, but you can save that one for a little later, because it’s impossible to spoil a child under six month or so, anyway).

    2. The Happiest Baby on the Block, by Harvey Karp.

    The White book will give you a sane and sensible overview of the child’s development. It’s nicely laid out, easy to read, and you get the clear impression the man likes kids.

    Karp is the master at getting babies to sleep. I’d suggest you buy the book and DVD combo, and learn to swaddle a baby before yours arrives. (The key? TIGHT. It can’t be too snug. They LIKE it that way.)

    Oh! And CONGRATULATIONS!!!! That is so exciting!

    Comment by Carolie | February 25, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you — for the kind words and congratulations, and for the suggestions!

      Comment by Carolie | February 26, 2011 | Reply

      • I wish I could have found a copy of Karp when Babby was a screaming mess. Although my mother showed me swaddling etc, and he did have reflux, so perhaps it wouldn’t have performed any miracles for me.

        Comment by IfByYes | February 26, 2011

  7. I only ever used Baby Love and The Mighty Toddler, both by Robin Barker, and your blog. I think Baby Love is considered the baby bible in these parts.

    Comment by Kat | February 26, 2011 | Reply

    • Oh, another Australian below! What would we do without the common good sense of Robin Barker?

      Comment by Lex | February 28, 2011 | Reply

  8. For me, Baby Love by Robin Barker, Australian pediatric nurse. Sensible, simple, easygoing.

    Comment by Lex | February 28, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

