It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Pancake Party Preparation

I have been lusting over all the Really Fun Mardi Gras crafts I’m seeing all over the internets. Fun, festive, and those colours — purple, green, gold — are just so luscious. I love them. I want them. However, this is Canada. We don’t really do Mardi Gras here.

We do Pancake Tuesday, yes, we do. (“Shrove Tuesday” to some.) I am all primed to feed the children pancakes and fruit salad for lunch next Tuesday. Which is okay, so far as it goes.

But Mardi Gras… well, it just looks so vibrant and fun! And, here in Ottawa, March? March is so unremittingly grey and bleak and just generally bleah. Ottawa in March is anti-vibrant. I am tired of white and grey! I want some of that colour! I want some of that party spirit! I want it NOT be be March!!!

I know I can’t push the calendar ahead a month, dammit, but I can push some colour and fun into this bleak and dreary will-winter-EVER-end month. So, in the interests of fun activities in a dull month, and lots o’pretty, pretty crafting opportunities, and, let’s not be coy about this, in the interests of my winter-shredded sanity, I’m about to indulge in some shameless cultural appropriation.

Next Tuesday at Mary’s house, we will be having a party. A Pancake Tuesday Party. We will have pancakes, of course. With the aforementioned fruit salad. And cheese. This is a little more than standard Pancake Tuesday festivities, but we’re not going to stop with just the pancakes! Oh, no!

Because WE will also wear masks. Which we are currently making.

(They are not done yet. We have purple sparkly flower-shaped sequins and gold ribbon that have yet to make their appearance. And some gold foam stars! And purple and green feathers! Whee!)

And there will be beads. As many as we can make. (With pasta/paint and with paper/glue.)

(They are not begun yet, but they will be luscious and SPARKLY. Whee!!)

And probably dance to a little zydeco. Whee!!!

I’m thinking we’ll have fun. And all that planning and creating will get us through the first grey week of a long, dreary month.

Pancake Party Gras.

Whee!!!!
🙂

March 1, 2011 - Posted by | crafts, holidays | , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. “Pancake Party Gras” – Love it!!! I was happy to have March come, since it’s just that much closer to April. But, you’re right, it’s a little gray still (although I’m here in MA, USA and am looking forward to some 40 degree days!). Have fun at your sparkly party! Spring will be here soon! (We hope!)

    The temperatures are slowly rising here, too, but the temperatures in the mornings, when I walk the dog, are still a bracing -15C to -20C (5F to -4F). Afternoons are much milder, up in the -5 to -12 (23F to 10F) range. If it’s sunny, that can be quite pleasant. -5 and up feels like spring; anything colder than that is still winter.

    Comment by Patti | March 1, 2011 | Reply

  2. Oooh, how fun is that?! I LOVE the masks. So colourful and festive. And yes, anything to brighten up the dreary of March. My SAD lamp helps, but only so much. 😀

    I have a SAD lamp, too! It makes a world of difference, but by March I am quite literally craving real sunlight!

    Comment by Sheri | March 1, 2011 | Reply

  3. How about some St Paddy’s celebrating next? I’ve seen a wonderful leprechaun hat craft last year. This is similar: http://stpatricksday.tipjunkie.com/leprechaun-hat-beard-dress-upss

    Seems to me that preschoolers can make a year’s curriculum by following a world holiday calendar. Someone is having a celebration somewhere all the time!

    Oh, we’ll be doing St. Patrick’s day, for sure! We don’t make as much of it as Americans (or so I gather via the Internet), but it’s a good excuse for some crafts, at least.

    Comment by My Kids Mom | March 1, 2011 | Reply

  4. Fun! You should add some pancake races!

    WHAT is a pancake race? I’m assuming it’s not rolling them on their edge along my kitchen floor?

    Comment by Dana | March 1, 2011 | Reply

  5. Cool. How did it go with Tyler today?

    Comment by jwg | March 1, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

