It’s Not All Mary Poppins

No, I’m not dead

… nor, sadly, vacationing someplace fabulous.

Nope, it’s just March, and March is a long, weary month from me, the final installment of a long, weary winter. If spring came to Ottawa in March instead of April, I’d probably have been posting these last two weeks! My reserves of energy drop precipitously in March, and though I am managing to get lots of interesting things done — maybe I’ll show you some next week — I have to pace myself. Blogging has never managed to make it to the top of the day’s to-do list… which honestly seems to have worried a few of you. I am touched (and flattered!) by the emails of concern. Thank you!

However, the temperatures are much milder now, the snow is receding dramatically, and the sun is shining brilliantly, at least yesterday and today. I suspect I will be back to blogging next week.

Not Monday, however. On Monday I am taking the day off, and am going to a SPA with a girlfriend!!! I’ve never been there, but I’ve heard wonderful things. The perfect solution to the March doldrums, I’m thinking.

(Hm. That link takes you to the main page, which, the spa being in the province of Quebec, is in French. If you want to see more, but don’t read French, there’s an “English” tab at the upper right. You can also check out the Photos tab.)

March 20, 2011 - Posted by | health and safety, Ottawa | , ,

6 Comments »

  1. I hope you have a marvelous time!! Living in Alberta, but as a former Montrealer, it’s quite something to visit a french website. Doesn’t happen very often to me.

    d.

    Are you bilingual, then? I’m not. My French is primitive at best, but Emma is fluent!

    Comment by Deborah | March 21, 2011 | Reply

    • I was, but have been in Alberta for almost 15 years now. I understand, but am very hesitant to speak!

      Comment by Deborah | March 22, 2011 | Reply

  2. March in Ottawa is horrid. People living in other places just don’t get it. I think the worst thing is the way we get a few warm, sunny, glorious days, giving us hope that spring really is here – followed by a week of snow, freezing rain, and cloudy, grey skies. BLECH.

    Be sure to tell us if you liked the spa. A spa day isn’t likely in my near future, but I’d like to know where to go if the occasion ever arises. 😉

    Yes! That’s exactly it! We have had some lovely, lovely spring days… and then BAM!!! 8 cm of snow — right back to winter. It’s demoralizing. BLECH is absolutely right.

    The spa was great, and, as these things go, not expensive at all. Arrive early and stay the whole day for a flat rate (about $50). It’s all about the heat and cold: hot tubs (large, free-form, curving pools set into the ground, outside), saunas (steam and dry); cold pools of varying temperatures, then relaxation rooms (with wood stoves and/or heat lamps in the winter). You cycle through them: first hot, then a cool dip, then relax, as many times as you like. Lovely. You can pay extra for a massage, if you want, but we didn’t bother. The restaurant is nice and the food very good. Funny to eat in a bathrobe in public, but when in Rome… 🙂

    Comment by mamadragon | March 21, 2011 | Reply

  3. Very good to know you’re ok, even if you’re having doldrums. Hope the spa is just the ticket!

    It was. Thank you!

    Comment by Jan | March 21, 2011 | Reply

  4. ooooooh, a spa! Enjoy!

    Comment by IfByYes | March 24, 2011 | Reply

  5. […] Keeping busy means less down-time, less time for the dreaded doldrums to creep […]

    Pingback by Happiness Resolutions Follow-up: My surprise « It’s Not All Mary Poppins | May 9, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

