It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Ugh. And happy Easter to you, too

Grace’s mother is congested. It’s not a little snuffle, it’s my-head-is-exploding-with-the-pressure grossness. Her voice is raspy, she looks like death. (Well, as much like death as a pretty early-thirty-something can ever look.)

Jazz’s dad has no voice. His mouth opens to emit a raspy whisper which clearly causes him pain.

Jazz’s mother, Grace’s father, and Rory’s mother all have sinus pain and ear infections. Last week, Rory’s poor mother also had the stomach flu. Copious vomitting, and nothing to do with her now second-trimester pregnancy.

Every single child in the daycare has some variant of a cold. They all have runny noses. Jazz and Rory cough constantly. Constantly, and directly into my face 47 times a day. Ick. Grace seems to have a sore throat, though she is so quiet it’s hard to know for sure. Tyler and Emily were both home for a few days with fevers; now that all they have are runny noses, they’re back.

Grace’s mom coughs, blows her nose (again) and looks at me. “Look at us. It’s gross! And look at you! You’re fine. You’re in the middle of this all day long, and you’re fine.”

“Well, when you’ve been surrounded by toddlers for as long as I have, you get exposed to pretty much everything out there. I have a cast-iron immune system by now.” I said that. I really did. I should know better. I studied English. I know about hubris. It’s worse than tempting fate. Essentially I was putting a giant KICK ME sign on my butt and daring fate to go for it.

That was Thursday afternoon.

Thursday evening, my throat was a bit raspy. Friday morning, I woke up to a very sore throat, a voice that only came out cracked and croaking, and a full octave lower than normal, and a cough. And oh, the pain when I coughed. Thankfully, Friday was a day off.

Saturday it no longer hurt to cough. Thank goodness, since I was coughing approximately 72 times an hour. I still had no voice.

Sunday I was feeling better! Still with the cough and raspy voice, but more energy. (Good thing, since I was hosting an Easter brunch for ten. And it went very well. And then I had a nap. And went to bed at 8 pm.)

This morning I crawled out of bed at 4 am so as to spend the next hour on the couch blowing my nose every minute and a half. Since I was going to be awake anyway, why make my poor husband suffer through the noisy evacuation of 12 pounds of snot? (You’re welcome.)

This morning I had sinus congestion so bad my teeth ached. My doctor managed to squeeze me in at noon. I have a sinus infection (on top of the cold) and a prescription which I will start in 24 hours if the symptoms don’t abate. Thank goodness I ALSO had today off.

I may be taking tomorrow off, too. My poor parents.

How was YOUR Easter?

April 25, 2011 - Posted by | eeewww, health and safety | ,

4 Comments »

  1. Our Easter was, thankfully, healthy. And since you can’t feel any worse, I’ll just add that we spent almost the whole day outside. You’ll win in a few months when the humidity tries to smother us, but right now Atlanta can’t be beat!

    I spent half an hour on our front porch this afternoon, reading, while the two non-nappers coloured. It was nice.

    Comment by My Kids Mom | April 25, 2011 | Reply

  2. I think this time of year in the norther latitudes is the very worst for colds and ick. My boys have had something nasty, which they very graciously shared with me on Easter Sunday. Yuck.

    Hope you feel better very (very!) soon!

    Not yet, sadly. Soooooo tired… Hope you throw yours off. At least I can take the drugs my doctor prescribed!

    Comment by rosie_kate | April 26, 2011 | Reply

  3. It’s your own fault. You mentioned the Early Childhood Professional I******* Gods. Now have some brandy in your tea and a good long nap, and may this be a lesson to you. Feel better soon.

    I******* ???

    Oh, wait. Immune you-know?

    Comment by jwg | April 27, 2011 | Reply

  4. Yup, every kid I look after has a runny nose. Every single one. ICK.

    And how many times has one of them coughed or sneezed directly into your face today?

    Comment by hodgepodge | April 27, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

