It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Geeks ahoy!

Emma has applied for a job at one of the local hospitals. A job for which there is a three-part test: data entry, French language, and medical terminology. To that end, she has a booklet from which to learn medical terms. A sixty-five page booklet. She has been diligently memorizing terms upon terms upon terms for the past three days.

The test is 8:00 am Tuesday morning. It is now 10:45 am Sunday morning.

She calls her two best friends. “If I’m not far enough ahead at the end of today, I’ll be taking Monday off to finish the book.”

There are cries of protest. Genuine dismay.

“You can’t take Monday off! We wanted to quiz you!”

They were really looking forward to this. Really.

I love, love, love that my daughter’s friends are such true geeks.

May 1, 2011 - Posted by | my kids

3 Comments »

  1. The joke in our extended family is that we are purposely raising our kids to be geeks. It’s not a joke, though, we really are.

    I cannot tell you how thrilled I am that it’s steadily becoming cool to be a geek. It makes me crazy that people are somehow made to feel embarrassed to have enthusiasms and interests that actually use their brains! “Excited about learning???? Eeeew!” So glad that seems to be passing, at least a bit.

    Comment by Bethany | May 1, 2011 | Reply

  2. I plan to do so as well.

    Though it wasn’t one of the reasons I homeschooled my kids for the first few years, one of the results was that my kids all see education as something they do for themselves, as opposed to something that is foisted upon them. Learning is interesting! Why should admitting that be cause for social grief? Makes me crazy, crazy, crazy.

    Geek and proud, I say!

    Comment by IfByYes | May 1, 2011 | Reply

  3. Bon chance Emma!

    Thank you. She has been studying like mad the past few days, and the amount of stuff she’s memorized is staggering. I can’t imagine she won’t ace that test!

    Comment by Dana | May 2, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

