It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Ergo, an Ergo!

You recall that post I wrote a few days back, in which I was craving an Ergo? Since writing that I had decided I would have to wait a few months on the Ergo. Too many other expenses (like fabric, ahem) (for hats and bags, which makes it a legit expense! really!) precluded a purchase of that magnitude.

Poop.

It wasn’t such a hardship. New Baby, as I’ve said many times, is having a very easy transition. Though a baby carrier would be convenient, it isn’t desperately needed as it would be were she an anxious, fretful child. So I can live without an Ergo for another little while.

Poop.

And then I got an amazing email. A wonderful, fabulous, so-good, very cool note.

I had mentioned a local baby-and-toddler-toy-and-cool-stuff store. A fairly high-end one, but full of clever, creative, funky stuff? And I had groused a smidge about the prices while admitting I get all sorts of inspiration from its stock.

The email was from Jen, owner of that store. She’d noticed a spike in hits on her website, and followed it back to me. Causing me to break out in a cold sweat and scramble back to the post to make sure I hadn’t been too snarky…

She liked the blog, she said. (Oh, aren’t you wonderful, I said to myself.) Moreover, she’d noticed that I was looking for a baby carrier, and…

here comes the wonderful bit…

if I hadn’t yet gotten one, she’d be happy to give me an Ergo.

SQUEEEEEEE!

Was that not nice and generous (and gracious and forgiving)?!

Things like that just do not happen to me. I’m the person sitting next to the woman who wins the door prize, the one whose ticket number is 2 away from the winning ticket at the school’s lottery, the one who has yet to win an eBay auction, who remembers the amazing three-forone coupon three days after it expired. That’s me.

I’m not the one who writes a post (with a teeny edge, no less) and wins a prize I wasn’t even trying for!

But I am this week. Whee!

Two days later I popped down to Three Little Monkeys, and the lovely… um… I forgot to ask her name, I was so fixated on MY NEW ERGO!!!… anyway, she was lovely. She helped me choose one and showed me how to use it, using a life-like doll. The next day I tried it with New Baby. I was a little clumsy but managed not to drop her, and she, being the easy-going muffet that she is, was as cooperative as a 12-month-old who hasn’t a clue why you’re tossing her around could possibly be.

Between the both of us, we got her ensconced on my back. Yay! I wore her for a few minutes and it was comfy enough. I adjusted it a bit, and tried again. Even better.

Vistas of freedom stretch before me: bus trips with only a single-seater stroller. Yay! Getting lunch ready without a baby trying to scale my legs. Yay! Having an empty seat in the four-seater stroller to carry a picnic lunch or extra-large sand toys. Yay!

I am SO EXCITED!!!

Thank you, Jen.

I have an Ergo. Isn’t that amazing???

May 19, 2011 - Posted by | Ottawa | , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. YOU are so lucky!! Isn’t the blogosphere great?

    Comment by IfByYes | May 19, 2011 | Reply

  2. Good things happen to good people!

    Comment by My Kids Mom | May 19, 2011 | Reply

  3. How exciting!

    Comment by Bethany | May 19, 2011 | Reply

  4. You will LOVE that Ergo. I had one for my second child and wished I had bought it two years sooner.

    Comment by ClumberKim | May 19, 2011 | Reply

  5. Oh, how very kind! Hooray! I’m sure now when people admire your lovely Ergo, you can happily point them in the direction of the lovely store with the lovely merchandise and lovely people! 🙂 Congrats on your winningness!

    Comment by Ms. Huis Herself | May 19, 2011 | Reply

  6. Hurray!

    Comment by Samantha | May 20, 2011 | Reply

  7. Yay! I am so glad that worked out for you!

    Comment by Danielle | May 20, 2011 | Reply

  8. I’m so happy for you!

    Comment by Judy | May 20, 2011 | Reply

  9. […] or are needed for other tasks. I could strap the little monkey on my back, yes (particularly now I have an Ergo!!!) but maybe I want to feel deliciously light and unencumbered for twenty minutes. That’s […]

    Pingback by Sleep, baby, sleep « It’s Not All Mary Poppins | May 23, 2011 | Reply

  10. how wonderful! My friend swears by hers, taking her toddlers out in it while they take the dogs for long forest runs, and so on.

    Comment by kittenpie | May 29, 2011 | Reply

  11. […] so I say again, Ergo, how I love thee. I’m still sweaty, but I can move. I can interact with the others. And my […]

    Pingback by Oh, Ergo, how I love thee « It’s Not All Mary Poppins | July 14, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

