It’s Not All Mary Poppins

A senior moment?

Until about 7:15 this morning, it was Saturday.

I got up (having ‘slept in’ until 5:38!!), pulled on a pair of jeans under my nightshirt, and took the puppy out for her first pee of the day. No need to get fully dressed, as I would on a weekday, because who’s going to be outside at 5:39 on a Saturday morning?

Oddly enough, my neighbours to the west were out, just getting into their car. And dressed rather nicely for a Saturday morning. Maybe they had a wedding to attend, or something?

I come back in. My husband wanders through the living room, a little early for a Saturday, but Saturday is one of his running days, so maybe he’s just going to get an early start on what promises to be a beautiful day.

I putz about on Farmville for… a while… while I sip my first cup of tea of the day. (For such a low-key game, it sure can eat up a lot of minutes. I make no apologies. As vices go, it’s pretty mild.)

I go outside with the puppy again.

I wander into the kitchen and scratched a line through yesterday’s dinner menu, and checked tonight’s entree. (Yes, it has the days of the week written on it…) Took the ground turkey out of the freezer.

And still, it was Saturday. Saturday at 7:12. My first child arrives at 7:45.

And I’m still in my jammies.

Here’s where good karma comes in. I go upstairs to the attic to where my Wonderful Husband is watching sports highlights, a morning ritual for him. I go upstairs to the attic, intending, it being a Saturday and us having NOTHING on the agenda (which is how we prefer our weekends), to jump his yummy bones.

(TMI? Mary has a happy marriage.) πŸ™‚

Before I make my agenda clear, he says something about having a shower. “Before you take your run?” I say, somewhat surprised. See, my plan was to get him all sweaty before he took his run, knowing he’d be taking a shower after that. Aren’t I just so efficient??

“I’m not taking a run this morning.”

Now that’s just weird. My sweetie is a creature of habit. Run days are Tuesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays and Sundays. I am thrown into further confusion when he asks whether I’ve taken the dogs for their morning walk. Well, no. He always takes Indie with him when he runs. I walk the puppy later.

“But I’m not running today. It’s Friday.”

Friday?

FRIDAY???

I’m dressed, properly dressed, in less than three minutes. I’m drinking my second cup of tea in less than seven.

And I greet the first parent — fully clothed, face washed, teeth brushed — twenty-three minutes after that. Because it’s Friday, and I’m working.

Thank heavens for naughty intentions.

June 3, 2011 - Posted by | quirks and quirkiness, sex, the dog

8 Comments »

  1. Bless your heart! That’s one of my worst fears, getting days mixed up. luckily, I use my phone as an alarm clock and beneath the time, it says “Friday, June 3”.

    I’m not sure even your phone would have helped me this morning. I looked at not one, but TWO calendars this morning, even crossed a day off one of them… and somehow managed not to notice the day. Bizarre.

    Comment by Dallas Thompson | June 3, 2011 | Reply

  2. Wahahaha!

    Heh. πŸ˜‰

    Comment by Judy | June 3, 2011 | Reply

  3. Been there ! That said You hardly qualify as a Senior (that is also a defensive statement as we differ in age so slightly) πŸ™‚

    True. If I’m ‘old’, you’re within spitting distance!

    Comment by billarends | June 3, 2011 | Reply

  4. I’m guessing that I’m about the age of your eldest, which makes you my Mama’s age and therefore still ineligible for senior moments. Also, I made the same mistake yesterday but, sadly, without the naughtiness.

    Okay, so I’m not a senior quite yet. Moreover, if a twenty-something is making the same mistake, it’s not even that I’m losing my mind… I hope… (My mistake was, sadly, without the naughtiness, too — all because it was FRIDAY, darnit!)

    Comment by Samantha | June 3, 2011 | Reply

  5. First, I had a very quiet afternoon (only two kids here today, and they napped AT THE SAME TIME) so instead of doing chores I read back through some of your archives. You’re my dayhome provider hero. Thank you for being you.

    Aw, shucks. Thank you.

    Second, I actually *did* greet the first kid of the day in my pajamas once – it was their fault (thank goodness) because they were a half-hour early. The kid thought it was hilarious; the idea that I have a life outside looking after the kiddos clearly blew his 2.5 year old mind. His dad (who got an eyeful, I sleep in a t-shirt and yoga pants, no bra of course) was less amused. πŸ˜‰

    By “less amused”, I hope you mean embarrassed, not annoyed!

    Comment by hodgepodge | June 3, 2011 | Reply

  6. I had a friend make the same mistake yesterday. Some weeks last too long. πŸ™‚

    And now it’s over, because, as of now, it IS Saturday! Whee!

    Comment by ~a | June 3, 2011 | Reply

  7. I kept trying to make that mistake this week. Thursday became Friday and Friday became Saturday so my thinking was screwy this week.

    And now it really is Saturday. Phew!

    Comment by Melissa V | June 4, 2011 | Reply

  8. I’m giggling as I picture your face at the door if you’d been startled by a doorbell, distracted by “naughty intentions.”

    Oh, gracious. I hadn’t even considered that. I dodged more than I realized!

    Comment by My Kids Mom | June 4, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

