It’s Not All Mary Poppins

It only seems obvious

Subtitled: Cause and Effect? What’s that got to do with Anything?

You can’t take your socks off if you’re standing in them.

I can’t open the door if you’re standing right in front of it.

If you feed all your Cheerios to the dogs, there will be none left for you.

Your shirt is wet because you (deliberately, ahem) poured your water down yourself.

If you want to be in your highchair, you have to let go of my knees.

How many gazillion times a day do YOU say something like this?

June 29, 2011 - Posted by | Mischief, random and odd | ,

7 Comments »

  1. Is it horrible that some days I just leave them to figure it out? (AND internally roll my eyes!) I could say that by leaving them to figure it out I am letting them fully experience cause-and-effect. But really, sometimes… I’m just tired!

    Exhaustion/boredom has taught me some of my very most effective parenting techniques. (And no, it’s not horrible… so long as the eye-rolling stays internal. 😀 )

    Comment by Jess | June 30, 2011 | Reply

  2. Just said this last night, to my three year old. He cried, put on his pajamas, and said he was tired. So I tucked him into bed. And then he screamed blue murder because why why why was he in bed mommy?!?!

    *sigh*

    And then you just walk away. Because is there any reasoning with that? No, there is not.

    *sigh*

    Comment by hodgepodge | June 30, 2011 | Reply

  3. Funny, I have to say things like that to my boss all the time.

    “If you tell your employees that they’re terrible at what they do, they’re not going to want to work for you.”

    “If you want leaves to stay out of the salon, you need to close the door.”

    Imagine that. I dunno, Sarah, those are pretty subtle concepts…

    Comment by secretlysarah | June 30, 2011 | Reply

  4. I’ve used this one when keeping the toddlers at church – “If you want your friends to play with you, you have to be nice!” And actually, I’ve seen a few grown-ups who could use the same advice.

    And teens. I’d say this is an all-ages nugget of wisdom!

    Comment by June | June 30, 2011 | Reply

  5. Ha! With 10 toddlers and 46 3-6 year olds, I can’t even begin to count…

    I see a fund-raiser… Compile them into a book and sell it to their parents. Heh.

    Comment by Laura | July 3, 2011 | Reply

  6. when will they understand that you can’t open a door when they’re standing in front of it?!? I am baffled that I still have to explain that to my 4 and 6 year olds.

    YES! That one makes me crazy! Every day. Several times a day. Eesh. Let’s see… my kids (25, 22, and almost 18) have figured that out… but I can’t remember when it happened.

    Comment by Meesha | July 4, 2011 | Reply

  7. Sorry but I will challenge you on number 1 (my toddler used to stand on one foot with the toe overlapping the other foot and if you pull on the overlapped toe: voila! a free foot! Repeat for foot number 2)
    .

    Comment by Diane | August 25, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

