It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Happy Canada Day!

I’m not working today. It’s a holiday!!! And one for which I really, really, reeeally appreciate living in Ottawa. Where better to celebrate the country’s birthday than the capital?

The Snowbirds perform over Parliament Hill. (And when they do, they’ll almost certainly fly over my street, too. Takes a while to turn one — eight! — of those things!) Very cool.

Guess who’s in town?

I just happened to be walking home from downtown yesterday as the cavalcade went by, coming in from the airport. And guess what? Kate waved at me. (Yes, she did. I was the only person on that stretch of the canal. It must have been me!) Either that or she was just stuck in auto-wave, poor girl. Entirely possible.

Later, there will be fireworks over the Hill, and if I feel like it, I can walk a few blocks over and spot them from the grassy verge of the canal.

From the canal, where I won’t get quite that view… but I also won’t have to contend with these crowds:

(Been there, done that, loved it then, not so much now. 🙂 )

Happy Birthday, Canada!

July 1, 2011 - Posted by | Canada, commemoration, holidays | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Good gravy! It’s like Times Square on New Year’s isn’t it! Happy Canada Day 🙂 We are having the Happiest 4th EVER! Hubs is on a plane out of Afghanistan. 😀

    I can’t imagine better news for your family! I hope you have a WONDERFUL homecoming celebration!

    Comment by Jess | July 4, 2011 | Reply

  2. I was there! It was my first Canada Day in Ottawa on The Hill. Lots of people, yes, but the fireworks display was worth it.

    Comment by Carole | July 9, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

