It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Those hats

It took two muslins, a couple of false starts and a certain amount of colourful language…

But I think it was worth it! (Note the face. They had just been dissuaded from a giggle-filled game of “let’s dump buckets of sand on our friends’ heads!!!” I am such a party-pooper…)

Aren’t they cute?

They are so cute, and that’s a good thing. Because those hats? They were a bugger to make. The blogger who posted the instructions said they were ‘easy’. HA! An ‘easy’ pattern would be something that could be tackled by a beginner sewer. Capes are easy. Pillowcase dresses are easy. These hats were NOT easy.

I’m an intermediate sewer, I’d say. I’ve spent lots of time at a sewing machine over the years, though not at super complex projects. These hats were a stretch for me. Now, I got better at it the more I made. I made one significant adjustment to the instructions to make it easier for me. (The inside doesn’t look as good as it could, but the outside looks waaaaay better.)

So. A challenge, they were … but worth the effort! Cute, cute, cute, cute, cuuuuuute. (The ruffle-butt doesn’t hurt, I know.) 😀

More importantly, aren’t they IMPOSSIBLE NOT TO SEE? We’ve been wearing them around town for a couple of weeks now, and no matter where we go, parks, coffee shops, library, water park… I always know where all my kids are. I always know not only because I can SEE them, not simply because those hats STICK OUT OF A CROWD, but because, no matter where I go, people comment on them, if not to me then to each other. If someone is grinning and pointing these days, it’s almost certain to be at one (or all) of THOSE HATS.

I love it.

“Look at those hats! They’re great!” (Followed almost inevitably (and meaning the kids, not the hats) by, “Are they all yours?” Of course.)

Seriously, though. I’m proud of these things.

July 18, 2011 - Posted by | crafts, daycare | ,

3 Comments »

  1. Those are darling. I love them.

    On a hat note, I took my 7 year old and her friend swimming. They are both in the same swim class, so I know they are both proficient enough to go in the water by themselves. I sit in in the baby pool with the 3 year old, but keep an eye on the big girls in the pool. (For the record, the water is only up to their necks, and both can swim well.)

    Anyway, daughter’s friend was wearing a bright pink swimming cap! It was the easiest thing ever to spot and I always knew where they were.

    Comment by Suzanne Lucas | July 18, 2011 | Reply

  2. They are awesome. And they do look difficult to make – all of those seams meeting in the middle! Then the triangular pieces making a round brim! Yikes. Good for you for persevering! I’d be proud of them too.

    Comment by Laura | July 18, 2011 | Reply

  3. Adorable! And the ruffle butt makes it even cuter 😉

    How do you get the little ones to keep the hat on?

    Comment by Melissa V | July 19, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

