It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Maternal Goopiness

Every so often, while out shopping in an upscale dress shop (or, in my case, just passing by), you’ll come across a pair of girls — excuse me, young women — or a whole group of them, with that certain spark about them. They’re not just hanging out and having fun, though there’s a lot of fun in the air. No, there’s something more to it.

And if you watch them a little longer (and I generally do, because they’re just so damned appealing, somehow) you will pretty soon deduce that the special something about these girls is that they are Wedding Shopping. One of them is The Bride, the other, her Maid of Honour. Perhaps there are some bridesmaids along, too. They radiate joy. They are blooming in happiness and excitement. They’re just so lovely.

They always bring out the “Awwww” in me. You young mothers, you probably do that, too, when you see a bridal party out together, only you’re probably remembering your own wedding. You’re thinking of how it was for you, how excited you were, how fun it was. When I watch those young women, the “awww” has quite a different source. My own Big White Wedding is so far back in distant history that it doesn’t figure in my response. I’m not thinking of my hours spent poring over bridal magazines, the comparing of patterns with my Maid of Honour, the shopping for just the right accessory. I did all that, and loved it, but that’s not what’s triggering my “Awwwww”.

No, when I look at those young women, I see girls. I see someone’s daughter. And it’s just so damned sweet! You say “awwww” when your toddler mangles the language and says something so freaking adorable by mistake you just melt into a puddle of maternal goopiness. That’s exactly the “aww” I feel for these girls.

I see those young, vibrant, joy-filled, excited girls, and I see my own daughters, and I go “awwww, aren’t they just so sweet? and young? and happy? and hopeful?” Maternal goopiness overwhelms me.

And last week, my youngest daughter (just turned 18) went to visit her big sister (now 25). Her big sister, who got engaged this spring. My youngest daughter will be her maid of honour. And while they were together, they went wedding dress shopping!!!!

Aaaaawwwwwwwwwwwwww……..

My babies are not babies any more. And it’s wonderful!

They are also kind and thoughtful young women, and made sure that mum, stuck back home in Ottawa, got to see the top few contenders. Wanna see???

I love the buttons on this one.

Oooooh, chiffon!! (Or is that tulle? Pretty, either way!) Sort of quasi-Grecian thing going with the layering on the bodice, too. Nice.

This one suits her figure. (She’s inherited her mother’s curves, I say, modestly.) πŸ˜€

Front view.

Finally, the top contender so far. (Lookit that teeny waist? Aren’t you all so jealous? I’m a smidge wistful. I said she’d inherited my figure. I didn’t say I totally still had it any more… sigh…) I loooove the lace on the overskirt.

Pretty, pretty, pretty, pretty, pretty!

My baby is going to be a bride.

AAAaaaaaawwwww…

July 20, 2011 - Posted by | my kids | , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. Beautiful girl- wonderful momma! Enjoy this time and thanks for the encouragement that our kids growing up IS a wonderful thing! πŸ™‚

    It is a wonderful thing. And just think… if you’re missing your own babies when they really were babies, well, with any luck, a married child could mean more babies in your future! ANOTHER good thing about them growing up!

    Comment by Chelsea | July 20, 2011 | Reply

  2. Wow, she looks fabulous is all the dresses – but that last one is stunning.

    Congratulations to all!

    I think she’s a way from making a decision, but she sure is having fun! And who knows? Maybe that last one will be THE one. It is gorgeous.

    Comment by hodgepodge | July 20, 2011 | Reply

  3. Oh, I like that last one so much. But then, I’m biased. It looks a lot like mine did. Whatever she picks, she’s going to be gorgeous. All brides are πŸ™‚ And so sweet for picturing them for you to be involved even if you couldn’t be there.

    All brides are gorgeous, yes, they are. It’s all that joy and hopefulness they’re radiating. (awwww)

    Comment by ktjrdn | July 20, 2011 | Reply

  4. That’s so wonderful that they sent you the pictures so you could be involved. While I’m not anticipating a wedding anytime soon, I do find myself looking at the parents at weddings, and thinking of how that will be me. Plus watching all the nieces and nephews getting married makes me realize that it happens much faster than I think it will. Oh, so wonderful for you and your girls…Enjoy!

    Sarah is terrific at making me feel part of things, even from this distance. I think it was only this morning, though, when I was walking the dog and thinking about things, as you do in the quiet, that I realized that if my baby is going to be a bride, that makes me the Mother of the Bride. I got just a teeny bit weepy, right there in the dog park. Eesh. If I’m doing that now, what a mess I’m going to be on The Day!! But a happy one!

    Comment by Dani | July 20, 2011 | Reply

  5. Awww. She looks great in all of them!

    Something about a wedding dress, huh?

    Comment by Bethany | July 20, 2011 | Reply

  6. The last dress is stunning on her! And the 2nd to last, as well. She’s going to make a beautiful bride!!! I’m so excited for her!!!

    Me, too!

    Comment by MJ | July 20, 2011 | Reply

  7. I LOVE weddings. Everything about them. I think in a different life I could have been very happy as a wedding coordinator. Has she tried any off-whites (ivory, candlelight) or is she dead-set on white? I think she’d be stunning (not that she isn’t already!) in a candlelight white. I’m also partial to raw silk but really, every bride is gorgeous to me!

    I’ll suggest it to her. She is a fair-skinned, green-eyed (or blue or grey, depending) blond, so I think you’re probably on to something. (Her hair looks darker than it really is in the pictures. She’s a dark blond, but definitely blond.)

    Comment by Candace | July 20, 2011 | Reply

  8. Oh, I hope you have as much fun with this wedding as my mother and I had with mine! Mothers who are full of joy and delightfully grounded are a gift.

    I think we will. The wedding won’t be for a couple of years yet, but we’ve already tossed around a bunch of ideas about this and that. It’s such fun!

    Comment by Samantha | July 20, 2011 | Reply

  9. My mother LOVED wedding dress shopping with me πŸ˜€

    Comment by IfByYes | July 21, 2011 | Reply

  10. Having gotten married not even 2 years ago, I can say honestly, that I tried on 3 of the dresses in those pics. (One of them was the dress in the background with the red accents, which was actually a #1 contender for a bit.) But I definitely feel that “awww” moment when I see those girls, and I definitely remember what it was like to BE one of those girls! Congratulations on the exciting times ahead, and I send you wishes of peace and serenity during the not so exciting times of wedding planning.

    Comment by Liz | July 27, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

