It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Chatter, chatter, how they do chatter…

For your entertainment. A visual representation of the wall of sound that surrounds me as I push the stroller. One of the many reasons people grin as we pass…

UPDATED TO ADD: Okay, you guys. You all found Rory’s contribution. Kind of hard to not notice the f-bomb when dropped by a two-year-old, I know, even if that’s not what he thought he was saying. But it’s time to move past that. Hunt up Emily in there. It’s too adorable. 🙂

A couple of entries there are recognizable. Can you find Emily’s words? And Rory’s? Oh, wait. Grace is identifiable in there, too!

August 10, 2011 - Posted by | Emily, Rory, the things they say! | , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. uh, “gakker gakker dumb &uck!” was spoken by whom?

    That’s Rory, but he’s not swearing. Any guesses as to what he was saying??

    Comment by My Kids Mom | August 10, 2011 | Reply

    • My first son did the same exact thing — I should have recognized that immediately. The tot had quite the potty mouth by accident!

      He had Emma and me in stitches, and, oddly, neither of us felt any urge to correct him…

      Comment by My Kids Mom | August 10, 2011 | Reply

  2. Would probably have been MY kid, were he in daycare. I’m a potty mouth, I admit it.

    He wasn’t saying what it looks like. I’ve written what it sounded like, but that’s not what he was saying. Put on your mommy ears and see if you can figure it out!

    Comment by MJ | August 10, 2011 | Reply

  3. LOL!!

    Comment by Bethany | August 10, 2011 | Reply

  4. That’s gotta be a dump truck

    It does indeed. There’s a lot of construction going on in a neighbourhood nears ours. Block after block of loaders, excavators, backhoes, tractors (“gakkers”) and, yes, dump trucks.

    Comment by ktjrdn | August 10, 2011 | Reply

  5. I’ve heard ‘frog’ come out like that version of ‘truck’ before. Over here I hear a lot of “it’s kroken and I need to pix it,” but no inadvertent swears. That is, we have none unless you count my name which comes out as ‘Dam’ and therefore open to interpretation…

    My now-30-something cousin, when he was very little, used to pronounce “squirrels” as “whore” (the ‘hoor’ pronounciation). That was rather entertaining. For my son, ‘forks’ came out like Rory’s ‘trucks’.

    Comment by Samantha | August 10, 2011 | Reply

    • Squirrel was a first word over here but it came out ‘gurl’ and then a few weeks later ‘goo-rull.’ Neither are quite as amusing I’m afraid.

      Comment by Samantha | August 10, 2011 | Reply

  6. We have quite a lot of inadventant swearing here. I tend to ignore it, or agree that it is indeed a “whatever”, (pronounced correctly), but my sister and brother-in-law like to exploit it. Both “frog” and “fork” come out like Rory’s “truck”, and “count” loses it’s “O”. BIL loves to encourage Grace to tell us she is doing a “fork count”. She can’t pronounce S terribly well either – it comes out as “D”. Guess who teaches her to wave her stick around”? Grrr!

    Angie

    Comment by Angie | August 12, 2011 | Reply

  7. Oh I miss childcare! My own kids are too young or too old for baby talk, a friend of mines little boy loved the ‘fat controller’ from Thomas but it always came out as ‘fa-kin troller’…

    Comment by Jenny | August 12, 2011 | Reply

  8. […] A bit of an ordeal to get there. But, when we do, there are GAKKERS!!! (And, yes, ‘dumb f*cks‘.) Gakkers and Loaders! Cranes! Bobcats and excavators! It is VERY […]

    Pingback by Toddler Bliss « It’s Not All Mary Poppins | August 18, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

