It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Travails of a Puppy

My baby is growing up! Daisy will be six months old on Sunday, and so, to celebrate this momentous event, we

gave her an extra-juicy bone
took her to an exciting new dog park
bought her a new collar and leash

took her to the vet to have her reproductive organs yoinked.

Poor Daisy!

Now, if my surgical experience is anything to go by — which, I hasten to clarify, is NOT the same one Daisy has just endured — the actual surgery was a non-event. You go to sleep, you wake up. You wake up not even knowing you’d been asleep. Odd how that, when you sleep, you’re aware in a general way of the passage of time, but when you’re knocked out, you are not. Not at all. Weird.

But then you wake up. Which is when it gets yukky. And for Daisy, I am very, very sure that the worst part of the yukky is The Cone.

She does NOT approve of the cone. The vet calls it an “Elizabethan collar” or “E-collar” for short. Amongst dog owners in our neighbourhood, it’s known as the “Cone of Shame”, the shamelessly anthropomorphic myth being that “all the other dogs will laugh at her”.

I’m sure there’s no shame in her heart, but there sure is weariness and misery. Here she is yesterday, still all drugged up, in pain, and absolutely bewildered. “WHY are we DOING this to her? WHEN will it STOP???” (That is Indie’s crate she’s in, since she can’t get into her own. The door’s too small, you see, to admit The Cone.)

Look at her! Isn’t that pathetic? Don’t you just feel so sorry for the wee mite?

All she wanted to do was creep away someplace quiet and be miserable, but all her usual hidey-holes were banned by virtue of That Damned Collar. In the corner behind the chair? Nope. Her crate? Nope. Under the couch? No way it would fit. And yet at a certain point yesterday afternoon, she vanished.

It took a minute of rather anxious searching before I found her. She had managed, somehow, to squeeze herself under the end table beside the couch. I’ve no idea how. And awwww, more with the pathos.

My poor baybeee! That doesn’t look comfortable AT ALL. I managed to coax her out, then lifted her onto the couch. There. She at least looks comfortable now. (Depressed, but comfortable.) It might be my imagination, but it seems to me there’s a little less pain showing in her big brown eyes…

Here she receives comfort from Emma.

That orange thing against Emma’s face? It’s an ice pack. Yes, Emma does indeed have an ice-pack held against her jaw. That is because yesterday was not only The Day Daisy Lost Her Lady-bits, but also The Day Emma Lost Her Wisdom Teeth.

Whee!! do I know how to plan FUN EVENTS for my HOLIDAY!!!, or what?!?!

Now, lest you all be shocked and horrified that I am giving the DOG more post-op love and attention than my DAUGHTER, let me remind you that Emma is eighteen now. While, yes, I had lots of opportunity to take “awww, lookit my poor baaaybeeee” photos, I think I could safely put myself on Emma’s “People I NEVER want to speak to EVER AGAIN” list were I to have PUBLISHED any of the pictures.

So yes. I love my daughter. I love my daughter SO MUCH that, not only did I not post pictures of her in her swollen, blotchy, drugged-up state, I DIDN’T EVEN TAKE ANY.

That, my friends, is mother love.

But if I had taken pictures of Emma yesterday, she’d have looked much like this:

Aaawwwwwwww….

September 1, 2011 - Posted by | health and safety, my kids, the dog | , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Awww. That is the saddest thing ever. It looks more like the cone of sorrow. Hope she feels better soon. (And, hi, old friend!) Just got done feeding our new baby so I thought I’d check in while she goes back to sleep. I need to catch up!

    Hi, yourself! The twins big enough now that you braved another? Congratulations!

    Comment by Matthew | September 3, 2011 | Reply

  2. Got to love those collars. Great jeezily, your vet gave you a huge one! The saddest thing is watching them whack into the wall constantly.

    They tried a smaller one on her, said, “Gee, she has a long nose,” and went to the next size up. I’m guessing she’s sort of between sizes, a smidge too large for the one, and a mile too small for the next size up! Poor baby.

    In fact, she’s gotten pretty good at dodging the walls. Doorframes are a little more problematic, and my calves? IMPOSSIBLE to miss. It’s day four now, though, and the itching must be receding a bit. I can now remove it when I have her on a leash, and, with the occasional tug on the leash to discourage her when she starts to turn her nose to her tummy, she’ll actually walk! And sniff at leaves and grass, and eat bugs! (Rather than, you know, curl up in a ball of frenzy and attempt to chew her entrails right outta there.)

    Comment by IfByYes | September 4, 2011 | Reply

  3. Awwwwww! Hope they both feel better soon!!!

    Comment by MJ | September 5, 2011 | Reply

  4. Here’s a card for both of them. http://giftshop.seattlechildrens.org/Get-Well-Soon-Dog-with-Cone-Cartoon-P297.aspx

    Ha! That’s great! Thank you!

    Comment by Laura | September 6, 2011 | Reply

  5. […] how pathetic Daisy looked after her Big Procedure? How limp and floppy, how droopy and sad? Well, it’s been a week […]

    Pingback by Three, two, one… PUPPY EXPLOSION!!! « It’s Not All Mary Poppins | September 7, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

