It’s Not All Mary Poppins

On your marks…


September! For those of us in Canada, THIS is the New Year. For some odd reason, we delay celebrating it until January 1, smack dab in the worst throes of the bleak mid-winter, weirdest damned thing I can think of, but everyone knows that the Tuesday after Labour Day is the beginning of the real new year.

The seasons are changing. It’s definitely early fall around here. A few rogue leaves lay about on the ground. The rest will follow in a while. It’s dark when I wake in the mornings, and dark again when I go to bed. The air is fresh, and though we’ve had a rainy couple of days recently, when the sun shines, it has that gorgeous autumn glow. Lovely.

And the kids? They are Back to School. My eldest has been out of school from some years now, of course, but my younger two are starting today! And, for the first time in their educational history, they will be attending the same school! Yup. Both of them start classes at the University of Ottawa today, Emma in nursing, and Adam in bio-pharmacology. (Aren’t you impressed? I sure as heck am. At the end of the day, I will have produced an anthropologist, a nurse, and a … um… something impressively medical…)

That’s exciting!

And me? Back to work today. Before my time off, I was starting to drag a bit. I was tired too often, physically, mentally, mostly trudging through my days. This morning? I am psyched and ready! The theme for the month is fall (but of course!), and I have my plans. Oh, do I have plans! Plans for outings, plans for crafts fancy and simple, plans for indoor activities and out. We’ll be doing a tree for our wall as we do most years (only this time I have ideas involving fingerpaint paper and printing for that trunk), making leaf belts, leaf prints, seed coasters, and applesauce. I have compiled my first sensory bin. (Even if the kids don’t enjoy it, I had fun assembling it! In fact, given how tactile I am, if they’re rotten, maybe I just won’t share… neener, neener…) I have the menu for the week posted. We’ll be heading to the library for fun fall-theme books.

It will be one lovely, creative, happy, heady round of fun, fun, fun!!!!

I am READY! TO! GO!

(Here’s hoping it lasts more than a week…)

September 6, 2011 - Posted by | crafts, my kids | , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I totally agree. September is the beginning of the new year!

    Comment by Suzanne Lucas | September 6, 2011 | Reply

  2. agreed! i love the sense of renewal that a new school year brings! plus, my birthday is at the end of august, so it’s double-y nice!

    Comment by Dana | September 6, 2011 | Reply

  3. I love the feel of a place the day before the kids arrive-so full of excitement and expectation. Sensory tables and bins are my favorite thing. The perpetualpreschool.com website has some great ideas.

    Comment by jwg | September 6, 2011 | Reply

  4. oh your very last line made me laugh! I feel that way too sometimes : )

    Comment by Lynn | November 8, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

