It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Tag Blanket

Rory has a new baby sister. She was born at the end of August, and ever since I’ve been intending to make her… something. What, I wasn’t sure, until I saw a picture of a tag blanket. So cute! So effective! So eeeeasy!

There are instructions all over the place, but I used the one from Craftzine. Mine, however, is quite a bit smaller than theirs, about 30 cm (12 inches) square.

Isn’t it pretty?

The bonus? Apart from the blue flannelette, everything you see I had on hand.

A lot of that ribbon I didn’t even purchase, at least not directly. Some of it came wrapped around boxes of truffles, and they were SO PRETTY I couldn’t imagine throwing them out! Some of it was the waist drawstring of a pair of pajama bottoms I bought on sale, only to bring them home and discover I’d bought the version designed for entirely bum-free women. But the fabric was so cute that I kept them anyway, figuring that what I’d paid for the useless jammies was less than I’d pay for that cute fabric — and the great ribbon!

I’m very pleased.

October 11, 2011 - Posted by | crafts | , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Great idea for what to do with those odd bits of ribbon. I can’t throw them out either.

    Aren’t I glad I didn’t??

    Comment by Katherine | October 11, 2011 | Reply

  2. It’s very pretty, but what is it for?

    For the adults, it’s for looking pretty. πŸ™‚ For the child in question, it’s for feeling. The star side is smooth cotton, the blue side is soft flannelette, and the ribbons have a variety of different textures. You’ve probably seen a child with a special blanket or toy: have you noticed how often they love to snuggle/feel the silky binding on the blanket or the tag on the toy? This just takes that idea and runs with it!

    Comment by Carly Barnard | October 11, 2011 | Reply

    • I’d guess that it’s a tactile blanket – babies love to stroke different materials and fabrics, and while Rory’s sister is tiny she won’t be able to move around and touch things, so the things are brought to her! It’s a cute blanket, Mary πŸ™‚

      That’s it exactly, May. For now, it’s something to lie with her in her crib. Later, if it’s successful, it’ll be something she’ll carry around with her. My youngest, who is EIGHTEEN, still sleeps with the “blankie” I made her when she was four weeks old.

      Comment by May | October 12, 2011 | Reply

  3. Our son always loved the tags of things. Blankets. Stuffed animals… Still does. Will search out the tag to play with, while he’s falling asleep. I can see that something like this would have been well loved! πŸ™‚

    It’s gorgeous.

    Yes, exactly. I’ve seen that a lot. A child, falling asleep, will manoeuvre their toy so that the silky tag is against their cheek, and rub it between thumb and forefinger as they drift off. I hope it’s well loved!

    Comment by L | October 12, 2011 | Reply

  4. Could you make one in queen sized?

    EEEEEEeeeeasy… but man, it would take a while. πŸ™‚

    Comment by jwg | October 12, 2011 | Reply

  5. I guess my husband would find it sort of strange.

    Comment by jwg | October 12, 2011 | Reply

  6. made one of these for my adorable new niece! and, like you, everything was on hand! yay!

    Comment by Dana | October 13, 2011 | Reply

  7. Great idea!

    Comment by IfByYes | October 16, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

