It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Toddlers and toilets

Hannah‘s tale of toilet woe reminded me of this very old family story. Which I will share with you for your amusement.

Years ago, my aunt was working downstairs in her kitchen when she realized two things:

1. She hadn’t seen her two-year-old son in a while and
2. She could hear water running.

Whee! Aren’t toddlers exciting??? What a rush! Pure adrenaline.

She sprinted upstairs. As you do when your two-year-old is AWOL and there’s water running.

And she found him,

in the bathroom…

naked…

and sitting…

IN…

the toilet bowl.

Yup.

The running water? He was reaching up to flush the toilet, repeatedly.

Yup. The boy was flushing himself.

What was he doing??? you might reasonably wonder. Certainly his mother did. He was happy to answer! Gleeful, proud of his wee self for thinking this one up.

“I’m having a shower in the toilet, mummy!!”

Ba-dum-pum.

I suspect he shortly thereafter had a bath in the tub.

But really? This is a tale of encouragement and support. Really! Because this two-year-old is now thirty-something. A thirty-something who, I am quite sure, takes his own showers — in an actual shower!!! So hang in there, you frazzled parents. It does get better!

Eventually.

December 23, 2011 - Posted by | eeewww, health and safety, Mischief | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. OK, you win. That is significantly worse than my story. Giggling uncontrollably at the image of a toddler plopped in a toilet like a sparrow in a birdbath.

    I still grin, every time I think of it, even after all these years. I wish she’d taken pictures. That’s something I’d love to have seen!

    I don’t know if it’s worse, but it’s funny! 😀

    Comment by Hannah | December 23, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

