It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Ouch.

One aged root canal became one cracked tooth, which led to two abscesses, requiring one extraction, which took two hours and came out in four separate pieces. Scurried home without filling my prescription for Tylenol 3’s, because I was already making Emma late for class.

That might prove to have been a mistake…

My mouth hurts like heck, and yes, I am working, but no, I don’t really feel like blogging.

Ugh.

March 5, 2012 - Posted by | health and safety |

7 Comments »

  1. Ugh indeed! Feel better!

    Thank you. Sadly, this is only the beginning. Seems my mouth is a mess all of a sudden. Boo.

    Comment by Chelsea | March 5, 2012 | Reply

  2. Ugh. Hope you feel better!

    Me, too. It’s almost bedtime now, and still quite achy. Hope I sleep well.

    Comment by Kate | March 5, 2012 | Reply

  3. Hope you feel better soon. I linked to your yummy looking beet and lentil salad on my blog today. I was looking forward to your menu today….perhaps tomorrow?

    Gah! I was so preoccupied by this appointment (which I knew would be sort of bad, and ended up being even worse), I totally forgot. Yes, tomorrow! Today they had quinoa casserole, which is something I just made up, but it’s tasty!

    Comment by Carrie | March 5, 2012 | Reply

  4. This is for what they invented sick days. Take one!

    I know, you’re right, and I do have them in the contract, but I’ve been messing with the schedule enough lately to make me self-conscious about doing so. But! I have all of next week off!!! (Not that that helps me today, granted, but it gives me something to look forward to, while also making me reluctant to take a day off now, so close to my March Break.)

    Comment by jwgmom | March 5, 2012 | Reply

  5. Hope you get some Tylenols soon.

    Got them, took some, feel better. Still hurts some, but not nearly so much. Aaahhh

    Comment by Judy | March 5, 2012 | Reply

  6. Lots of sympathy from me. Cracked teeth leading to failed root canals then extractions is something I know about. 29 hours of labour didn’t have anything on an abcessed eye tooth in my book! Poor you.

    I am uneasily aware that I have a second root canal in my head of much the same vintage. Since I now know that teeth with root canals grow brittle and can crack, I’m just waiting for it… Ugh.

    Years ago, when I was teaching prenatal classes, my dentist at the time made the comment that when he attended his wife’s labour, it came to him that giving birth is an entirely natural thing, what the body is designed to do, whereas what he did — dentistry — was so very often quite against the body’s natural order. I commented that I was grateful for his services nonetheless! (Though I didn’t know it then, he was the best dentist I was ever to have! My dentist right now is fine, but Dr. Tsotsos? The BEST.)

    And yes, I prefer labours to dental work as well, hands down. Of course, I’m an oddity in that I rather liked being in labour. It wasn’t fun, it certainly hurt, but wow! The raw power of my body. Amazing. AND you get a baby at the end of it!!! At the end of yesterday’s work, while I am happy to have the abscess out of there (I hope it’s gone, at any rate!) I come home only with a hole in a very achy jaw. Whoop-de-doo…

    Comment by Maisy | March 6, 2012 | Reply

  7. […] I had a tooth out a week ago. I knew it had the potential to be a bit ugly. There were two abscesses under there, part of it had broken off, the root was dead. It was a mess. […]

    Pingback by In which Mary dispenses with stoicism « It’s Not All Mary Poppins | March 15, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

