It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Happy Days, Crappy Days

A week and a bit ago, I resolved to take the children out every day. And I have! 100% success. Even on Monday when those “winds out of the north, with gusts to 60 km/hr” just about knocked poor Rory and Grace off their wee feet.

Really. We were walking north — right into the wind, ugh — and a gust came along that made them stagger back a pace or two. I think if they hadn’t been holding on to the stroller, they might have been blown right onto their little backsides. Of course, I’ll admit that had I realized the part about the “gusts to 60 km/h”, I would have skipped the walk.

But so far, 100%!!

And yes, it’s improving my mood. In part because fresh air and sunshine raises your spirits, as does exercise, but also the strictly pragmatic consideration that an outing makes the day go faster. There are all sorts of ways getting outside is a good idea.

Today? We will not be going out today. Currently, it’s -1C out there. It is raining. Quite heavily. The rain is COLD. In fact, it’s not exactly rain. It’s not exactly ice-rain, either. Something in between. Maybe icy slush? Falling from the sky? Yes, that’s it. Largish plops of icy slush, smacking into your face ten times a minute. Like being smacked with icy-cold, soggy wet elastic bands, all around your face (and hands, if you were so foolish as to not be wearing mittens). Absolutely standard March weather, of course, but, ugh.

I know all this because I’ve just been out in it, from 6:30 – 7:15, walking my dogs. Because I am a conscientious and self-sacrificing dog owner. And maybe a bit besotted with the hairy stinkers. They loved it. They love anything. Because, for a dog, every day is a good day!!!! (You want a laugh? Follow that link.)

Thus, I know from personal experience, it is sufficiently rotten out there that I can declare today an indoor day without any worries about being a slacker, or weaselling out of a commitment.

So today? Today, in keeping with a different resolution on that same list, we will do crafts. I’m thinking some of these would be just the thing for this craptastic weather day! Aren’t they cute and bright and pretty?

I hauled out my primary paints and mixed up the requisite colours. Isn’t that cute? (Okay, so there’s no indigo in there. CLOSE ENOUGH.)

Of course, there’s no way that Daniel or Poppy can paint in straight lines, and it’s dubious whether any of the others can paint between the lines… Still. It’ll be bright and pretty and fun in here!

Pretty much the exact opposite of what it is outside.

March 27, 2012 - Posted by | crafts, outings | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I wanted to tell you, I took your post last week to heart and have been trying to give more of my best in the dayhome. And it’s been working, largely – the days are going faster and I do feel less overwhelmed by noise, most days. Soon time to go for our walk this morning, as it happens. I’ve only got one extra kid this morning so I can take the single stroller, pop Baby G in the Moby, and take the dog too without feeling like a pack mule.

    I’m glad it’s helping you, because it’s certainly helping me. Hell, just knowing that at the end of winter you feel ALL DONE with dressing the gang to go outside for ten minutes helped. :)

    Comment by Hannah | March 28, 2012 | Reply

  2. Oooh, pretty!!! It’s raining here so we are headed to the library for Story Time. I LOVE how quickly the day seems to go by when we get out and about. Anytime I get in a funk and try to give myself a “break” the days seem to draaaaaag. I find I always feel better when I push through and stick to our schedule (be it arts and craft day or outings, etc.) Hope the painting goes well!

    It’s so true! You think you’re giving yourself a break, and it very rarely actually is one. The thinking is self-defeating, and yet so tempting, some days.

    The painting went well, though the only raindrops that looked like the ones on the website were the ones I made! However, we all had a good time, and all their paintings were very, very pretty. So colourful!

    Comment by Kate | March 28, 2012 | Reply

  3. Your dogs are just awesome eh. And what exactly did you guys paint again?

    Aha! You don’t know because you didn’t follow the link! But I will be nice and tell you: we painted stripes in the colours of the rainbow (and in the right order) so as to make rainbow-coloured raindrops on paper. Now they’re hanging on my dining room wall.

    Comment by My First Skool | March 30, 2012 | Reply

  4. [...] been implementing them with a respectable degree of consistency ever since. And the [...]

    Pingback by Happiness Resolutions Follow-up: My surprise « It’s Not All Mary Poppins | May 9, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 292 other followers

