It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Light of Mystery

Exhibit A: Dog. Mellow dog with light.

The light is a flattened sphere of plastic, inside of which is an LED bulb that cycles through a few colours when it’s turned on. It is not habitually turned on while in the house. This is for evening and pre-dawn walks, when it’s useful to be able to find one’s dog in a good-sized off-leash dog park.

Question: Why is Indie’s light on? Clearly she can’t manage it. It’s so stiff I have to use both hands and press like crazy with two thumbs to turn it on. This is simply not happening by accident. An idle knock into a piece of furniture would not do it. Even if she rolled on it, or scratched it, that thing wouldn’t turn on.

Hmmm…

Exhibit B: Two dogs. Mellow dogs, on bench. Mellow, un-lit dogs.

But wait…

and a closer look…

Chomp. Click. We have RED.

And green.

And blue. Mystery solved.

Well, all except for the “why is my small dog so weird?“, which will likely remain unsolved.

March 29, 2012 - Posted by | my kids, random and odd | , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Thank you I needed that! Made my whole drama with my (college) students seem more managable. About to go and talk to one of my Early Childhood education colleagues about how to bring some of what you guys do into a college classroom!

    I’m glad it helped! It had happened a few days running, and I was baffled, until I saw it happen. Daisy is a weirdo. (Then, of course, I waited for it to happen again so I could catch it with my camera.)

    Meantime, I hope you find a way to subvert the drama at work!

    Comment by anabels | March 29, 2012 | Reply

  2. What is that light bulb thing all about? And you said Click, you click or the dog did that or is it supposed to be some pendant that changes its color when the mood changes?

    The light is to be used when you take the dog outside in the dark. I see you’re in Singapore, where night and day are pretty much the same length the year round. Where I live in Canada, in winter it’s dark by 4:30 or 5:00 pm, and still dark at 7:00 am. (Further north, they get far less daylight! But in summer, of course, it’s light by 4:30 or 5:00 a.m. and stays that way till 9 or 9:30 p.m.) If your dog is on the other side of the park on a dark winter afternoon, the light helps you know where she is. Some lights are one colour only; this one changes colours.

    The “click” was caused when the small dog bit the light and thus turned it on.

    Comment by My First Skool | March 30, 2012 | Reply

  3. What gets me is that apparent “whatever” attitude when the other dog grabs hold of the collar in her mouth. They must be very comfortable with each other. I’ve never seen one of those lights before but can see why they would come in handy. 😀 Are you enjoying our back to normal temps? Me, I could have happily kept right on going into summer.

    Comment by Sheri | April 2, 2012 | Reply

  4. OK Enough of the funny dogs. Are you OK?

    Comment by jwgmom | April 13, 2012 | Reply

    • Totally okay! In fact, much better than okay. Just entirely unmotivated to blog. But I should probably explain my absence, huh? Thanks for worrying!

      Comment by MaryP | April 16, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

