It’s Not All Mary Poppins

May Day! May Day!

My apologies. This post should have gone up on Tuesday, which, as you all know, was in fact the first of May. (Which always prompts a rather rude rhyme my RAF grandfather used to recite on that day, over the protests of my grandmother, as it was most definitely not child-friendly. Fond childhood memories…) I missed posting. I didn’t miss making them, though, so you get to see!

I got the idea from The Fab Miss B, but can I find the inspiring post? I can not. Oops. It’s pretty self-explanatory, though. The one thing I might need to point out is that the toilet roll tubes need to be cut in half to make these teeny baskets. Oh, and the glue-gun, which I used to adhere the ribbon and the handles, is not in the picture. Oops, again.

Here’s what you need:

And here’s what you get!

Cute, no? Now, this craft is pretty much too difficult for my tots. They were involved, holding things, picking papers and colours, but really? I made them.

And then I “filled” them with these. The children did help with that, because we looooove baking around here! And this is their kind of baking: lots of stirring, no oven.

“Filled” in quotation marks, because the baskets are so wee, it took ONE peanut-butter ball to fill it. I sent a few more home with each child, wrapped in plastic. (Do I know how to keep my parents happy? Mwah-ha. It was either that, or eat the whole damned batch myself. Sooooo good!)

May 4, 2012 - Posted by | crafts | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. With the level of care the kids are getting, your parents should be very happy. With the cute baskets & yummy treats, they are blessed.

    Thank you. I have a good relationship with my parents, and I’m sure things like this play some small part.

    Comment by Judy | May 4, 2012 | Reply

  2. Does it start ‘First o’ May, First o’ May…’? Because if so, it’s the same one that my naughty great-gran taught me.

    I suspect it’s the same, even though mine starts “hooray, hooray, the First of May”. It then goes on to celebrate the commencement of a certain activity done al fresco…

    Comment by Tam | May 7, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

