It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Why I Claim “Household Repair/Maintenance” on my income tax…

A rather non-descript photo of nothing in particular, I know. Part of the dog, a rather grubby window ledge, a bit of greenery obscured by the window’s screen. Not much there. Oh, and some crayons.

Let’s have a closer look at those crayons, shall we? Hmmm… Yes, they are on the other side of the screen.

There used to be a tiny nick in the screen. Then there was a small hole. Then the small hole got a bit larger. Now it seems the screen is developing a holey rash, a series of teeny holes spreading along the base of the window. A series of holes through which crayons can find their way between the screen and the window!

Can’t imagine how they get there. One of life’s little mysteries.

The real question is, do I replace the screen? Or do I assume any future screens will develop the same mystery rash? Do I block the holes with duct tape (oh, pretty! and so classy!) and hope that discourages the perpetrators so that a future screen will be protected?

Or do I just get used to crayons in my window?

And mosquitoes in my living room?

Sigh…

May 18, 2012 - Posted by | Mischief |

3 Comments »

  1. Oh yes! I have baseboard heaters ripped off the walls because it makes such a great step for toddlers to better gaze out the windows, as well as the “accidental” one that was torn off when the older kids shoved a couch against it to create a larger fort. And in spite of the rule against moving furniture in my house, there are also large craters dug into my new-ish laminate flooring where it’s been moved for bigger forts or a better view of the tv. And even though I have a crate full of a variety of paper and throw away every single marker that sneaks it’s way into my house, I still have colorful lines and circles scribbled onto my walls in several rooms of my house, on my denim couch, and on the plastic kids’ kitchen and toys. There are stickers permanently embossed on furniture, glitter glue bumps on the floor, a couch with busted springs, and magazine pictures decoupaged onto tables, chairs, walls, and shelves. Play-dough that made it’s way off the giant playdough sheet I provide that is ground into the carpet. I also have two child-sized chairs (one handmade by my now-deceased grandfather) that were herilooms that have been broken into near-kindling by children too big to use them. *sigh* It’s part of having kids around, and I know part of these were done by my own kids, but I guess having more kids around increases the damages! More wear and tear. I try to keep certain things out of touch &/or off-limits, but it’s impossible with several kids varying in age from 1 to 10, and in personality. There are seekers, mischief-makers, climbers, bouncers, and of course, artists that enjoy various mediums for their creations! I like to let the kids have full access to the house, so they feel as at home and comfortable as possible, but that makes it more difficult to control damages! Oh well. I remind myself that one day they’ll all be grown and gone, and I’ll miss them. One day, I’ll be like my mother who leaves the fingerprint smudges on her windows that her grandchildren make to look at when the grandkids are away. I’ll have places all over my home with evidence that there were children here that were comfortable enough to be themselves and happy enough to express it! 🙂

    Comment by Kelly Shannonhouse Lalonde | May 18, 2012 | Reply

  2. Little holes like that are magnets for little fingers to make into bigger holes. Irresistable!

    Comment by lisa | May 18, 2012 | Reply

  3. I’d suggest you repair the screen, as you would not like it if you discovered you had sun-melted crayons in there one day:)

    Comment by Laura | May 18, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

