It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Happy Day-After-Canada-Day!

It’s Canada Day!! Well, yesterday was Canada Day, but as it fell on a Sunday, today is a day off. All the festivities were yesterday, and a nice quiet day today. No tots, and as I heard for days about planned trips to cottages, to grandparents, to play with cousins, I know they’re all having fun.

Me, I walked downtown and back — a smidge over 10k round trip, which I know thanks to this fun little website — to see The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. I am a huge Judi Dench fan, so anything with her in it is worth seeing. My husband had sent me a review some weeks back, and I’d made a mental note. (Which, to my intense surprise, I remembered!!) To his intense surprise, I suggested we go see it.

Why the surprise? I hate going to movies. It’s not that I don’t like movies, but that going to movies depresses me. It’s a daylight thing. You go in the daylight, you come out in the dark — that’s depressing! Hours of daylight lost. Hours. I cannot express how that very thought just sucks the joy right out of my soul. No point in suggesting a go to a late showing, so that I’m going into the theatre in the dark. I’d be asleep before the tedious trailers were done. (Assuming I could handle the volume. Why are theatre volumes set so LOUD? Good lord.)

But this was a holiday Monday! We could go in the middle of the day, so that we went in AND came out in daylight! AND I could see Judi Dench! (And Maggie Smith, another favourite.)

What a great movie. So glad I went. And we walked there and back, one of our favourite couple activities, because the whole time you walk, you talk, right? So an hour’s walk there (it was hot; we were in no hurry!), two hours in the movie, an hour’s walk back. A lovely half-day date for my sweetie and me. You know a movie’s good when you can spend an entire hour’s walk talking about it. And then some. It popped up from time to time over the course of the rest of the afternoon and evening.

I hope you had a good weekend, too.

July 2, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I carry earplugs with me at all times! They’re wonderful in a movie theater. I bought ones advertised as great for a concert–they bring the sound level down about 30 decibels. That’s enough to take the uncomfortable edge off the sound, but doesn’t obscure anything. They’re also life-savers on the rare times I go to a bar with my husband to watch a rugby match!

    I have always been a very light sleeper, being woken by things everyone else sleeps blissfully through. Most exasperating. Two years ago or so, I discovered that if I wear earplugs, I sleep just as soundly as everyone else. Seems it was just normal night-time noises that were waking me. It’s wonderful! And every time I go to a movie (not very often!) I think to myself, “Damn. I should have brought some earplugs!” I keep a set in my suitcase, so I’m never without when I travel. I should follow your example and put a set in my purse!

    Comment by Meg | July 3, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

