It’s Not All Mary Poppins

I’m not dead! And a question

So sorry for the long absence.

For two weeks, I was on holiday. Aaaahhh… The first week, Wonderful Husband and I went away for a few days. It was a work excursion for him, so I tagged along for a cheap vacation (the only kind we can afford, sigh). He flew me there on points (cheap! not free, still those damned taxes and airport fees, but cheap!), I shared his work-paid-for hotel room (free!), and we even managed to squeak in a few meals for two within the amount work allows for his meals.

So that was nice.

The second week, I had all sorts of projects planned … and didn’t really do any of them. That’s okay!! I sat on my porch in the sun and read. I helped a friend sort her basement. (Mold and spiders and general ick. I am a Good Friend.) I read. I had coffee dates and drink dates. I read. It was a good week.

I thought that when I returned, I’d have my blogging enthusiasm back… and I find that I haven’t, really. So, if there are any of you still reading here, I’m looking for help. I figure enthusiasm and ideas don’t happen in a vacuum. They come by interaction. Books, people, conversation, media. Some of that I do, but what I’m not doing much at all any more is reading blogs. I need to get back in there. I have some I read often — well, three: her, her, and her — obviously, more would be better.

If you’re out there and still reading here, please tell me: What blogs do you read and enjoy?

August 22, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

17 Comments »

  1. I’m tickled to be on your shortlist!

    I don’t read nearly as many blogs as I used to but I love Nicole at girlinaboyhouse.blogspot.ca – she’s funny, sweet, and smart. She’s also got a companion food blog – cookingintheboyhouse – and it’s got everything from Grandma’s Ginger Cookies (which are the best things ever) to kale chips and other vegan recipes. I highly recommend. (Plus she’s a hoot on Twitter, loves 80s music, and is just about the kindest person I’ve ever met online).

    Comment by Hannah | August 22, 2012 | Reply

  2. Timely post, I was just checking on you yesterday to see if I missed something…
    I love marksdailyapple.com
    It’s largely a site about food, but there is also a focus on living. He posts about sleep, the outdoors, playing more, and other thoughtful articles. I thoroughly enjoy his mix of philosophy and science! Also, the commenting community is generally very fun and kind.

    Comment by Meesha | August 22, 2012 | Reply

  3. Also, I didn’t mean to sound like you should be posting. If you don’t feel like it, don’t! Take a break! A change in focus can be so refreshing. 🙂

    Comment by Meesha | August 22, 2012 | Reply

  4. http://www.jugglingwithkids.com/
    http://www.chalkinmypocket.com/

    I also read a lot of blogs about fitness and exercise, but those are two kid themed blogs I usually follow…plus this one! 🙂

    Comment by Brooke | August 22, 2012 | Reply

  5. I have a week of vacation coming up and I’m really excited!! Yours sounds pretty amazing!

    Well I keep meaning to get my blogging but back in gear, but if you care to subscribe to my blog for when I actually write stuff – it would be my pleasure to attempt to inspire and/or entertain you :o)

    Comment by abbystrand@hotmail.com | August 22, 2012 | Reply

  6. Oops, that would be http://theylendmetheirhearts.blogspot.com 🙂

    Comment by abbystrand@hotmail.com | August 22, 2012 | Reply

  7. I’ve been missing your posts lately! Have you considered watching some TEDtalks? You can find them on the interwebs and on netflix, and it gets the thinking juices flowing.

    A lot of my favourite blogs are stalling out. I blame summer.

    Comment by IfByYes | August 22, 2012 | Reply

  8. I still read you!!

    Comment by Paula Douglas | August 22, 2012 | Reply

  9. I recently found Five in Tow and it seems that all her posts are amazing. This most recent one made me laugh until I cried: http://fiveintow.com/2012/08/18/surrounded-by-savages/

    Comment by rosie_kate | August 22, 2012 | Reply

  10. Yours 😀 And Hodgepodge (which I found though you)
    Not much of a blog person though (I know, I know blasphemy!) I’ll admit I’ve been checking in here a bit as I’ve been potty training one of the dc boys and love love love your advice on that! Glad to hear you are okay and enjoying some downtime!

    Comment by Kate | August 22, 2012 | Reply

  11. I love pioneerwoman.com, cakewrecks.com, and suitcasesandsippycups.com.
    I would also love if you read my blog, but you certainly don’t have to – parentingwithresearch.blogspot.com

    Comment by Jessica | August 22, 2012 | Reply

  12. Hi! I’m still reading. I’ve become addicted to Pinterest, so my blog reading has fallen off. I will be checking some of the ones here. I do look at toxel.com regularly.

    Comment by Tammy | August 23, 2012 | Reply

  13. For Mommy blogs, I compulsively read http://swistle.blogspot.com/ – great blog by a mom with 5 kids, updated almost daily. Also http://julia.typepad.com/ who posts a lot less frequently lately, but when she does it’s amazing, and sometimes http://www.askmoxie.org

    And you!

    Comment by Lynn | August 23, 2012 | Reply

  14. This isn’t daily reading, but I like checking it occasionally for creative play and toy ideas for young children.
    http://madebyjoel.com/2012/06/diy-baby-toy-slot-box.html

    P.S. — Glad you had a good vacation, and glad you’re back!

    Comment by Jan | August 23, 2012 | Reply

  15. I read yours! And I like it a lot! I also read some in Swedish and Danish, about daily life and knitting and things like that, Tantkofta and Dödergök and Fine Little Day.

    Comment by CHristina | August 26, 2012 | Reply

  16. Most of my favorites have already been listed. Maybe try potsnpies.blogspot.com or paintsplashes.blogspot.com

    Comment by Samantha | August 29, 2012 | Reply

  17. I don’t really read too many blogs, but really enjoy yours for the insight into raising toddlers. I have an almost 5 year old son, and a 2 year old daughter. Your blog helps me keep it all in perspective, and also helps keep my hopes up that the perfect dayhome is out there somewhere. My son starts kindergarten this year, and as of October, we will be changing dayhomes yet again, This will be my daughter’s 3rd. I have been back at work for only 15 months.

    One blog I read is Dinner with Julie – she’s a local girl who writes about local food and recipes. Between her blog, your’s and my busy life, that’s all there is time for!

    Comment by DK Flygirl | September 4, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

