It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Cabbage-beet salad

Ingredients:
3 beets
4 cups shredded cabbage
3 Tablespoons fresh cilantro, chopped
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 Tablespoons oil
a pinch of cayenne pepper
1/2 teaspoon cumin powder
1/2 teaspoon coriander powder
1/2 teaspoon cumin seeds
1 teaspoon garam masala

Method:

1. Peel, then boil beets for 5 minutes. Cool, then shred. Toss in large bowl with the cabbage.

2. Mix spices and oil in a small bowl.

3. Pour dressing over top and mix thoroughly. I often end up using my hands for this: there’s a lot of vegetables and the dressing is thick.

When I made it this week, I had some rutabaga I wanted to use up, so I shredded a cup of that into the mix. This makes a lot, but if you put it in a covered container in the fridge, it keeps well for a good week. I made it up on Sunday, and we’ll have it a couple of times, the daycare and my family, over the week.

November 20, 2012 - Posted by | food | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Mmmmmm, this sounds wonderful! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Comment by MargieK | November 20, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

