It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Menu … Tuesday

This past weekend was a long one here in Canada. I spent it doing exactly what one does with long weekends … a lot of whatever I wanted. It was lovely. Some yard work — a nice long line of packed leaf bags filled with needles. (Has the time come to do something about that dratted pine tree back there?) Some porch-tea-and-book time. (Raymond Chandler’s “The High Window” devoured in two and a half days.) Some wandering around with my sweetie time. Some drinks-on-a-patio-with-friends time. Some chatting with my kids time.

Yup. Just about perfect.

And now it’s Tuesday, and back to work, and all refreshed and ready to go! For food this week, we have planned:

Tuesday:
Peanut butter sandwiches, not so much because I am starting myself off easy, as the spinach-feta torte on a potato crust was a big hit with my family, and they ate all ours, and the daycare’s, too… Oops. (Or is that ‘yay!’? But also, oops.) So a quick switch was required. Easy!
First course: cucumber and green pepper slices
Main course: peanut butter sandwiches
Dessert: homemade applesauce

Wednesday:
First course: roasted veggie pilaf (in quinoa, rather than rice)
Main course: Stuffed green peppers
Dessert: Peaches

Thursday:
First course: chopped salad
Main course: lentil-rice cakes
Dessert: muffins

Friday:
First course: zucchini fritters
Main course: ginger-baked tofu
Dessert: gelato

May 21, 2013 - Posted by | food | , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Yum can you st a place for me?

    Comment by Cathy Trowbridge | May 21, 2013 | Reply

  2. Good for you. We all need some time off to rejuvenate our inner strength. I am sure you’re charged by now. Keep it up.

    Comment by Moses Akinmuyiwa | May 21, 2013 | Reply

  3. I keep meaning to ask about the ginger baked tofu. I always struggle to get flavour into tofu dishes. Any tips?

    Marinate it! A lot. Then, don’t drain it, but cook it in its marinade. I’ll post the recipe tomorrow.

    Comment by laineyinthelake | May 21, 2013 | Reply

  4. I’m interested in the quinoa pilaf. Looking for good quinoa recipes.

    Not sure if ‘pilaf’ is strictly the right word for it, because I’m mostly making it up as I go along, but I’ll post that ‘recipe’, too!

    Comment by dmalmq | May 21, 2013 | Reply

  5. I’d also love that ginger tofu recipe. Your weekend sounds most excellent!

    Recipe coming up tomorrow! It was a most excellent weekend.

    Comment by Sarah | May 21, 2013 | Reply

  6. Down here in The South, we buy “pine straw” bales at the garden stores to use as mulch. I rake ours up, and some from a nearby parking lot to haul home and use. The purchased stuff may be treated b/c my freel pine straw often sprouts tons of baby pines.

    They must do a lot of something to it, because pine needles are exceedingly acidic! Nothing, but nothing grows in my back yard. Not hostas, not mint, not even the unkillable Creeping Charlie.

    Comment by My Kids Mom | May 21, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

