It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Return from the …

the dead? Evidently not.

No, just returning from the disinclined. The otherwise occupied. The “this blogging schtick is beginning to feel like work“. So I gave myself a break.

And now I’m back. I’ve lost a few readers, for sure, vanishing like that for weeks (months?) without warning, but that’s okay. While I do like the idea of readers, and I certainly like interacting with my commenters, I blog for my own entertainment.

What have I been doing?

Just little things, domestic things, family and friend things.

My big girl recently visited from the states (Missouri, specifically), where she now lives. That was a big event in the Mary household! My big girl has had a big year, too, with some huge changes on the personal front — good and healthy changes! — a change of jobs, a new career, a new boyfriend, and, most recently, a new home. That’s a lot! She’s thriving, and I’m so proud.

My wonderful husband is travelling a lot this summer for work. We’ve had a few visits from our grand-daughter, always a delight. My baby turned 20 earlier this month. I am now the mother of twenty-somethings. No more teenagers!

So, this and that, and none of it exceptional, just normal family stuff.

The daycare is in a season of transition. Right now I have Jazz and Grace (both 4) Poppy and Daniel (both 3) and Rosie (will turn 2 late August). In September, Jazz and Grace will move on to Big Kid School, and Daniel’s baby sister (12 months) will join us. The fall enrollment is Poppy, Daniel, Rosie, and Daniel’s baby sister. Four children. Two of them part-time. (Which I thought would be full-time until quite recently. Mom found a job-shre. Good for her, bad for me.) Eep.

This leaves me with a space to fill. Only once in the 17 years I’ve been doing this have I not had all my spaces filled four to six months in advance, and that last time? It took me four or five months to fill it, because that’s how far in advance people find care in this neighbourhood. So that has me worried, though not overmuch… yet. The wolf is not at my door. I can still house, clothe, and feed myself… for a while. But the belt-tightening starts now. No more impulse purchases of pretty sundresses for me! Nor even pretty nail polish. Nor even coffee, come to that, unless the couch-mining is sufficiently bountiful.

So there’s that.

But all is well in the Mary household! I’m back, and glad to be here.

July 30, 2013 - Posted by | manners

15 Comments »

  1. Hurray, you’re back! I missed you. 🙂 I am a public preschool teacher. Before that I ran a daycare for 5 years. Yours is my favorite teaching / education blog. You really capture the moment with little kids AND the feelings of the grown-up involved too. It is nice to feel understood, and read the words of someone who gets the joy/frustration/occasional boredom/humor of caring for the little ones. HURRAY, you’re back!

    Comment by Patti | July 30, 2013 | Reply

  2. Good to have you back!

    Comment by Cate | July 30, 2013 | Reply

  3. Welcome back, you have been missed. I still check back daily and was happy to follow your tweets.

    Comment by MelissaV | July 30, 2013 | Reply

  4. It’s nice to have you back from your hopefully-rejuvenating break! 🙂

    Comment by MsHuisHerself | July 30, 2013 | Reply

  5. Glad all is well with you!

    Comment by Judy | July 30, 2013 | Reply

  6. I’m so glad you’re back. I bookmarked your RSS feed, so it’s easy to keep checking for updates.

    Comment by Nev | July 30, 2013 | Reply

  7. Welcome back! I understand the break. I haven’t written in over a month, but I’m still reading!

    Comment by Tammy | July 30, 2013 | Reply

  8. Tweets are fun, but glad you’re back!

    Comment by Margaret | July 30, 2013 | Reply

  9. Yay, Mary! You’ve been missed. Glad to know all is well with you and yours. Best of luck on filling that space asap. A girl’s gotta have some new polish and a summer dress now and again. 😀

    Comment by Sheri | July 30, 2013 | Reply

  10. I hope the right parents come along soon. And it’s good to see you back.

    Comment by Z | July 30, 2013 | Reply

  11. So glad to see you back! I can’t tell you how often I find my parenting practices drawing from you ideas, suggestions and philosophies. I recommend to anyone I know who is looking for an edifying and reliable parenting blog! I can only imagine how draining it is to try to plan and execute a blog after a day with the little ones. Thank for the many bits of wisdom you have shared – it’s been such a help for me!

    Comment by Heidi | July 30, 2013 | Reply

  12. I thought of you the other day, wondering what happened to your blog… Glad to hear it was pleasant busy-ness that took your attention!

    Comment by rosie_kate | July 30, 2013 | Reply

  13. Like others, I’m glad you’re back but was relieved that the twitter feed showed you’re still around.

    You don’t owe me anything but I’ve found your comments incredibly helpful – thank you.

    I can’t comment from work which is where I normally read, so this is first chance to say hello again.

    Comment by Peter | August 3, 2013 | Reply

  14. Mary, I missed you. Hope you’re having a fun summer, and finding new clients for the fall.

    Comment by neuro | August 4, 2013 | Reply

  15. Welcome back! I am glad I had you in my Feedly!

    Comment by Laura | August 6, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

