It’s Not All Mary Poppins

What have I been doing lately?

You might well wonder.

For starters, I’m fine. My life outside the computer has been occupying me, and not in a bad way. No crises, no worries. Just life. It may be because I’m in a bit of a creative surge at the moment, creativity which is being expressed outside the computer.

But it’s only fair to let you have a peek, I figure. So here’s the first project, which was completed a while ago, actually. My dining room table, location of much crafting, spillage and general mucky-ness, was a mess. So I stripped it down — first time in my life I’ve attempted such a thing, stencilled it, and varnished it.
table 005
The stencils are Martha Stewart. The paint is leftover from the front door.
table 005

Pretty, huh?
table 006It’s my first attempt. There are imperfections. The bevelling around the edge got sanded more profoundly than the rest of the surface, so it’s a bit paler. There are some bubbles in the Varathane which I didn’t spot at the time, proving the imperfection of my sanding technique.

table 008But it’s 1000% better than it was before, and I couldn’t be more pleased!

November 4, 2013 - Posted by | crafts | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Gorgeous!

    Comment by Suzanne Lucas--Evil HR Lady | November 7, 2013 | Reply

  2. That’s really pretty!

    Comment by MsHuisHerself | November 7, 2013 | Reply

  3. It’s lovely!

    Comment by May | November 7, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

