It’s Not All Mary Poppins

From Dawn till Dusk

Now that the solstice has passed, we’re onto the sunny side of the calendar. Well, getting there, at any rate. Wouldn’t you just love to know how fast?

Check out this tres cool site! Choose your part of the globe, then your country, and finally your city (or the one nearest you), and, voila!

Your very own dawn, sunrise, sunset, dusk calculator! Here in Ottawa, we’re gaining a little more than a minute of sunlight EVERY SINGLE DAY! In two weeks, my shot of daylight will be 19 minutes longer. In a month, I will be gettin close to a WHOLE HOUR more, EVERY SINGLE DAY!

dawnduskchart

This makes me very, very happy.

December 31, 2008 - Posted by | Ottawa, random and odd | , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. no fair. my day actually will be one minute SHORTER tomorrow. how is that possible? however, by the end of the week, we’ll have an extra five minutes. interesting site!

    Shorter? How IS that possible? It’s interesting to me that I’m gaining evening minutes more quickly than morning ones. I didn’t know that was how it worked. Clearly, I know less about the lengthening days than I would have thought (had I ever thought about it at all)!

    Comment by Angela | December 31, 2008 | Reply

  2. This cool little table almost makes the rest of winter bearable. Almost 😉

    Comment by Jules | January 1, 2009 | Reply

  3. Our days are getting shorter, but since the sun is still setting after 8:30pm, I can ignore that sad fact for a while longer.

    Happy New Year, by the way. 🙂

    Comment by chosha | January 1, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

