It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Rumours of Glory

I lift the child from her father’s arms and shift her onto my hip. As she passes between us, her small hand grabs at the collar of my t-shirt and her weight shifts its fabric across my stomach. Dad gets a sudden and generous glimpse of my left breast (encased within a rather pretty bra) before I immediately and casually shift the child, her hand, and my shirt back to appropriate placement.

Dad and I both pretend a) nothing happened and b) we didn’t see him take a very quick look. We’ll let him consider it a perk of daycare…

August 23, 2010 - Posted by | Mischief

9 Comments »

  1. Imagine having that knee-jerk reaction to breasts every. single. time. Must get boring. Or maybe not. Poor sods.

    πŸ˜€ I don’t think they find it boring…

    Comment by wendy | August 23, 2010 | Reply

  2. What? I’d look, too! πŸ˜€

    If only to check out the bra!

    Comment by Kat | August 23, 2010 | Reply

  3. How do you NOT look?

    Well, there’s that, too. Like the guy on the bus with half his hairy butt sticking out from his jeans. You don’t want to look, at all, and yet you do. Sometimes more than once. Though I suspect this dad would not put those two items in the same category.

    Comment by Bethany | August 23, 2010 | Reply

  4. I’m glad your bra was pretty!

    They all are, Laura. I’m picky that way. No ugly bras allowed. πŸ™‚

    Comment by Laura | August 24, 2010 | Reply

  5. Entirely appropriate reactions. I mean, what would it say about him if he hadn’t noticed or glanced?

    But, heh.

    Comment by Z | August 24, 2010 | Reply

  6. LOL. Poor guys. I’m admittedly facinated by breasts (comes from the manymanyMANY years of not having much to look at–thank goodness for pregnancy and nursing, lol), though not as much as my husband. πŸ™‚

    Comment by MJ | August 25, 2010 | Reply

  7. So does he read this blog?? Wouldn’t THAT be funny!!

    Comment by Debbi Does Dinner Healthy | August 26, 2010 | Reply

  8. I’ve often said that I lost any and all sense of modesty after having my first two children. (They were both born in a teaching hospital so there were PLENTY of residents coming in and out of the room during the whole thing. That would have been enough but my husband was also a resident at the time so all of his pals (Ear, Nose and Throat guys–complete opposite end of the body) kept stopping by, too!
    I no longer get embarrassed, especially with kids around but maybe that is because not all of mine are pretty. Is that because I don’t run a daycare or because I need to go shopping? πŸ˜‰

    Comment by LoryKC | September 2, 2010 | Reply

  9. I’m a mummy and I would have looked, though only in surprise. I guess if it wasn’t a lingering glance it’s k.

    But then I’m not the exposed nanny.

    My first time here and I’m throughly entertained.

    Comment by nmaha | September 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

