It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Halloween Craft

Here’s what we did yesterday. You could use popsicle sticks, but these are tongue depressors. (Well, the label on the package says they’re “craft sticks”, but they sure look like tongue depressors.) First you paint them orange… which for us meant that we had to mix our own paint. Turns out it takes about 8 parts yellow to one part red (or thereabouts — I was NOT measuring) to make this shade of orange.

Let the paint dry, tape the sticks together. (I used an X of masking tape.) Draw the pumpkin face using a black permanent marker. Ta-dah!! Pumpkin Puzzle!

It could be just me, but I found that the horizonal (side-to-side) sticks were easier to draw on than the vertical (up and down).

Oh, and the idea? Mix the sticks up and see if you can arrange them back into the pumpkin face!

October 21, 2011 - Posted by | crafts, holidays | , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Brilliant Mary. I love this. I can see using this to make fun greeting cards with birthday, valentine, holiday wished etc.

    Comment by altissima | October 21, 2011 | Reply

  2. I did this last year in wintertime with the kids at the preschool where I work. Lots of fun, and they loved designing the puzzle themselves!

    Comment by kethrimK | October 21, 2011 | Reply

  3. […] Craft Stick Pumpkin Puzzle from Daycare Daze […]

    Pingback by Pumpkin Crafts for Kids! 35 Pumpkins to Make & Learn | September 29, 2015 | Reply


Leave a comment