It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Baby, You Can Drive my Carbs

Daniel arrives clutching his blankie, and in full roar. It’s not the norm, but it happens from time to time. Distraction works well, but today neither the dogs, nor the toy trucks, nor a book, nor even knocking over a tower of blocks works.

Time for the Big Guns.

“Hey, buddy? Want some Cheerios?” His wails stop for a split second, and even when he resumes, his eyes meet mine. Ha! I’ve got him.

(Optimal child management? Nope. There is a time to bend those principles. It`s called compromising with reality, or knowing your tolerances. My tolerances a bit low today. Insomnia has me running on about half my normal sleep allotment. I figure I do it rarely enough — compromise my principles, I mean, this is the first time since that linked post was written in February — and since the children are well-behaved, noon-picky eaters, I can cut myself the occasional slack.)

Nor, mind you, do I pretend it’s anything other than what it is.

“Here, love. You sit right there, and I will bribe you with carbs.” Blissful silence descends, punctuated only by the soft sound of crunching Cheerios.

Poppy, a total carb fiend, widens her eyes at the small handful of Cheerios poured out onto the dining table.

“Mary! Mary, I wanna drive my carbs, too!!!”

And so she did. And everyone was happy ever after.

April 9, 2013 - Posted by | Daniel, food, Poppy

4 Comments »

  1. Baby, you can drive my carbs, and baby I looove you”.

    THAT WILL BE IN MY HEAD ALL DAY, THANKS FOR THAT.

    Looking after children on interrupted sleep is the. worst. My sympathies.

    It is. And I have a parent visiting at lunch, so she can see what we’re doing in our new food regime, so I have to be ON!! and PERFORMING!! Oof. Good thing shes one of my favourites, a nice, low-key mom.

    Comment by Hannah | April 11, 2013 | Reply

  2. I’m with Poppy. I love my carbs. I did the South Beach diet once. Lost 7 pounds in a week and was afraid I was going to kill someone for their bread. I gave it up.

    Comment by Suzanne Lucas--Evil HR Lady | April 11, 2013 | Reply

  3. Absolutely love the word play in the post. Too cute. 😀

    Comment by Sheri | April 11, 2013 | Reply

  4. Thanks for the smile. Well, laugh-out-loud actually! ‘Baby, you can drive my carbs’ will be with me for a while I think.

    And thanks for being honest and real and sharing these moments of reality that actually are what keeps life from unravelling. When there starts to be lots of moments strung together over a longer period of time, there’s a problem. In isolation, emergency fixes are beautiful.

    Comment by Ali | April 12, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

