It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Pancake Tuesday

Was yesterday!

DAMN.

I totally forgot.

My food prep is not going well today. We were going to have leftovers from yesterday’s dinner — PLANNED leftovers — but we can’t. Because my family ate it all.

All!

Of course, it was very, very good: butter chicken and naan, hot’n’spicy cauliflower and a lime-and-pepper cucumber salad. With rice, as my grandmother would have said, to “fill in the spaces”. But there should’ve been plenty for the tots. Plenty.

But that’s okay, because I just remembered I forgot Pancake Tuesday!!!

Guess what, kiddlies? We are going to have pancake WEDNESDAY this year, because pancakes are fun and easy and now I know what we’ve having for lunch. Yay!

I’m thinking the tots will not object.

🙂

February 17, 2010 - Posted by | food, holidays | ,

10 Comments »

  1. yay! we celebrated pancake day here! we made breakfast pancakes, though. is that what they have in canada or is it more like crepes style?

    I’ve never heard the term “breakfast” pancakes, but I gather from your comment that this is likely because it would be a redundancy up here. Pancakes are a breakfast food. Pancakes are what I chose for the picture: thick, fairly heavy, and traditionally served with butter and/or maple syrup, though (since real maple syrup can be expensive), often served with jam instead.

    Crepes are much thinner, lighter, and often served wrapped round all manner of yummy things, for either meals or desserts, depending on what’s inside.

    Comment by Dana | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. Funny- we’re headed to a pancake supper tonight! Kids never mind having pancakes- twice a day and they’d still love ’em!

    Or three! Or, heck, why not have’em for snacks, too, and make it five??

    Comment by Jill in Atlanta | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  3. Who could possibly complain about pancakes, ever? Even on Ash Wednesday? I didn’t even know about Pancake Tuesday (heard of Fat Tuesday, but not in regards to pancakes) until yesterday and I already had supper planned… oh well.

    My understanding is that Shrove Tuesday (also, Fat Tuesday) became Pancake Tuesday as pancakes were so often the means of using up the last of the animal fats in the house, which, this being the beginning of Lent, would not be consumed again until Easter.

    Comment by Rosie_Kate | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  4. I love Pancake Tuesday. So easy and everyone loves pancakes! Pancake Wednesday sounds just as good. I can understand why there were no leftovers, though. Butter chicken and naan is a favourite here, too!

    I have a fabulous recipe for butter chicken. It’s not nearly as difficult to make as the luscious flavours would have you believe! The naan? The naan we just bought from the grocery. 🙂

    Comment by tuesy | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  5. Yummmmmmm!!!! Don’t forget the maple syrup!

    Love to, but we’ve none in the house!

    Comment by Carrie | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  6. Pancake Wednesday sounds lovely, but not as good as this:

    butter chicken and naan
    hot’n’spicy cauliflower
    lime-and-pepper cucumber salad

    Care to share the recipes, especially for the chicken? Assuming it’s very easy, as I am kitchen-challenged.

    The naan we purchased. (That would be the royal ‘we’: I make the menus and the grocery list; my lovely husband does the shopping.)

    Everything else I made, though, so sure! Just let me go grab the recipe cards, and I’ll make the recipes tomorrow’s post, how’s that?

    Comment by Raia | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  7. In a case of happy-accident menu planning, we DID have pancakes for our regular Tuesday breakfast-for-lunch yesterday. And, since it was the 100th day of kindergarten, I made them in the shape of “100.” Quite the hit, let me tell you! 🙂

    Comment by Ms. Huis Herself | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  8. Wups! I forgot too. Once the church calendar was a big part of my life and now it isn’t. Bet your kidlets were happy, though.

    Comment by Mary G | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  9. We just had pancakes this morning. I like mine with maple syrup, a bit of leftovers (usually something with meat and slightly salty) and creme fraiche. The kids have theirs with sugar and milk.

    I’d love to try your butter chicken recipe, too. It’s always been easier for us to order take away. I looooove freshly made cheese naan.

    Comment by Kat at Book Thingo | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  10. And eggs–it ate up the eggs. But of course that’s also an animal fat…

    Comment by Bridgett | February 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

