It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Once Upon a Time

We’ve been singing this story for a while at Mary’s. (One day I’ll post an audio clip of my version!) The children, especially Gwynn, love it. The rhythm! The rhyme! The chanted bits! The sung bits! The overblown hammy-ness of Mary’s presentation!! So much fun!!

However, it had become increasingly clear to me that while she loved all that good stuff, and can even chime in for short bits, little Gwynn had not one single speck of a clue as to the story line. I’m not even sure she knows it’s supposed to be a story.

Right
Over
Her
Head.

So! Visual aids were clearly called for. I thought about it for a while. Finger puppets? Stick puppets? And then, while reorganizing the craft shelf, I found a giant box of felt squares that I’d forgotten I’d ever owned.  Oooo, felt! And I already have a felt board!

Ta-dah! All the elements of the story:

“Once upon a time in a nursery rhyme there were three bears, one, two, three!”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA“And one was the papa bear, and one was the mama bear, and one was the wee bear — one, two, three!”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
“One day they went a-walkin’ and a-talkin’ in the wild woods. Along came a little girl, and her name was Goldilocks.”
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Fun, huh?

Yeah, I know. You can see the lines of the pen where I sketched the outline. I did it on the back, but it bled right through. Lessons learned. but you know? The tots, they don’t care!

Gwynn hasn’t seen this yet, but I tried it on the wee ones while they were having their lunch. They were rivetted… though I’ll admit that it could have been the biscuits which really held their attention. I doubt, though, that it was the biscuits that had Daisy laughing so hard she spewed them out all over the table! That was entirely my doing.

I am so proud.

October 29, 2014 - Posted by | crafts | , ,

5 Comments »

  1. There’s a great book that your older kids might like called “Goldilocks Returns”. I think the author is Ernst. She tries to make good. And look, I got the password mess straightened out.

    I’ll have to look it up. That’d be fun. Our version, after “…and her name was Goldilocks”, interjects, spoken: “And she was a baaaad girl!” Because really: break and enter, theft, property damage? Bad, bad, bad. 😀

    Glad to see you figured out your logistical woes!

    Comment by jwgmom | October 29, 2014 | Reply

  2. This made me laugh out loud. I was recently listening to English Fairy Tales on a free audiobook site and you should hear the “classic” version of Goldilocks–she was a dirty, ugly old woman! I love the ending, too, but I won’t spoil it.

    http://www.loyalbooks.com/book/english-fairy-tales-collected-by-joseph-jacobs
    Track 18, The Story of the Three Bears

    Comment by Jackie | October 30, 2014 | Reply

  3. Oh yes! Please make an audio clip!

    Comment by Grace | November 1, 2014 | Reply

  4. Kids generally like rhythmic music and playing with puppets. You have introduced an amazing idea of incorporating both of them to make learning more fun for kids. Williamsburg Northside Preschool tailors these activities especially for their students. I like your concept of visual aids, thanks for posting such great stuff.

    Comment by Fran Allison | June 4, 2016 | Reply

  5. Amazing idea!! I love when providers think outside the box and create stuff with their own thoughts. If I had the time I would create my own curriculum and craft projects, but it is just easier at times to borrow someone else. Very creative and great job!!!

    Comment by kathleencornelldaycare | December 28, 2016 | Reply


Leave a comment