It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Valentine Craft

The tots have made a bunch of Valentine crafts over the past week. I’ve sent home pink blobs of paint (fingerpaint on heart-shaped waxed paper), pink blobs of paper on pipecleaners (supposedly flowers), pink blobs of sparkles (because a craft isn’t a craft if there aren’t sparkles to eat!!) The kids have enjoyed themselves greatly, and the parents have graciously ooh-ed and ah-ed over their pink blobs.

Today is Valentine’s Day, though, and those gracious parents deserve something a little more festive and a little less amoebic. So – Valentine sun-catchers!

First you pick some old crayons in appropriate colours. We used red, pink, and yellow. Grate them onto wax paper. (They get filled with static, and cling like mad – to your hands, your shirt, the paper. They leap and dance when your hand nears. Very funny.)
grate.jpg
Take a piece of wax paper. Ours were about six inches wide and the length of the roll. Place it on top of a section of newspaper on your kitchen counter. Fold the wax paper in half.

Sprinkle a little grated crayon onto half the wax paper. Don’t be too liberal in your sprinkling: too much crayon, and the light won’t shine through.

Fold the other half of the wax paper over the crayon bits. Cover with a sheet of newspaper. (This protects your iron from the wax of the paper, and from the wax should any seep out from between the two layers of waxed paper.)

Gently press with an iron set on delicate. If you simply press, the wax will melt in place. If you slide the iron around, the wax will swirl a bit. Totally up to you.
iron.jpg
Voila! Festive melted crayon! (I know, I know, it’s very blob-like. Bear with me.)
melted.jpg
Now for the frame. Cut yourself a heart from a piece of construction paper. Do it with the paper folded over, so you get two hearts. Then cut the centres out, so you get two heart-shaped frames:
heart2.jpg
Open the frames, and place one onto the wax paper-crayon-blob. Trace around the outside edge.

Cut the wax paper just inside the traced heart so you get a heart that fits the frame. Glue frames to the heart, one on each side.
heart3.jpg
Punch a hole through the heart, string with festive ribbon, and hang in a window! Ta-dah!!
finished.jpg

Happy Valentine’s Day!

February 14, 2007 - Posted by | crafts, holidays

12 Comments »

  1. Boo-tee-full! What lucky parents to get a sun-catcher of love.

    Happy Valentine’s Day Mary!

    Comment by Chelsea | February 14, 2007 | Reply

  2. That is so cool! I bet the little ones were giggling their heads off at the dancing crayon bits.

    Happy Valentine’s Day! 🙂

    Comment by MamaKBear | February 14, 2007 | Reply

  3. That is definitely a fun project. And K and B have a lot of crayon “leftovers” we may have to put to good use!

    Comment by Angela | February 14, 2007 | Reply

  4. What a great idea! They look amazingly good for toddler art.

    I’ve been thinking about the “Praise” post over at Partners in Parenting for a while. I think I may have enough thoughts put together to write my own soon.

    Comment by Lady M | February 15, 2007 | Reply

  5. Cool Craft I had forgotten about. I haven’t done this since Mrs Patton’s class and you know how long ago that was. I think I will try something similar with the Cub Scouts.

    Thanks Mary P.

    Comment by Bill | February 15, 2007 | Reply

  6. What a fun craft. I’m too late for Valentine’s Day, but I think I’ll do it for April and make Easter Eggs.

    Comment by mamacita tina | February 15, 2007 | Reply

  7. We made those last year and I just couldn’t muster up the energy to do it this year. I think I’ll take Tina’s idea and do it for Easter. OH! And St. Patrick’s day with shamrocks!

    Comment by candace | February 15, 2007 | Reply

  8. I love this idea. How sweet. I know as a new parent I am unbelievably excited by anything my peanut creates.

    Comment by Dani | February 15, 2007 | Reply

  9. Holy, cow! That is so groovy.

    Isn’t it amazing how we’re so easily entertained?

    Comment by Ki | February 16, 2007 | Reply

  10. I am amazed at your willingness to do that particular craft with more than one child. I do lots of things, but for some reason that one strikes fear into my heart. Good job! 🙂

    Comment by kelli in the mirror | February 19, 2007 | Reply

  11. Cute! I like mamacita tina’s idea to steal this for Easter Eggs!

    Comment by Victoria | February 20, 2007 | Reply

  12. oooh, I love this one! Must go buy an iron now…

    Comment by kittenpie | February 20, 2007 | Reply


Leave a comment