It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Sunday Stealing Meme

Found at Sunday Stealing, taken from Carmen.

1. What is a nickname a former (or present) lover gave you?
Um, nope. Not family-friendly. 🙂

2. How do you style your hair? If you just would say “cut” what style is it?
Wash, anti-frizz serum, bend over from the waist and shake it, stand up fast and flip it back up over my shoulders. Done.

3. What’s your least favorite Christmas song?
Silver Bells, maybe? Rudolph? I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus? Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer?

4. How many colors are you wearing now?
Three. (gray socks, blue jeans, tan sweater) Four if you include underwear (teal blue).

5. Are you an introvert or extrovert?
Introvert. (Who will tell you the colour of her underwear… I’m introverted, not shy.)

6. What was the last book you read?
Joy School by Elizabeth Berg. Lovely!

7. What’s one piece of fiction that changed your life?
Ummm… I think fiction, cumulatively, has enriched my life in many ways. There is not one particular book that has changed it.

8. If you are attracted to someone who is already in a relationship (or married), what might do you do?
Fantasize. 😉

9. Is there anything that has made you unhappy recently?
My daughter being bullied at school. Resolved now, thank goodness.

10. What’s your favorite dessert?
Chocolate fondue with fruit. Especially berries. Or something with nuts. Love nuts.

11. How long does it take you to get ready in the morning?
Ten minutes.

12. Name one website that you visit daily. Why do you read it?
Woulda Coulda Shoulda. Mir is honest, real, compassionate. Has a boatload of integrity, is funny, is a terrific mother, and writes like I wish I did.

13. What was your last job before either you are at home or at another job??
This is a mildly incoherent question. My last job before this was working in a group home for developmentally and behaviourally challenged adults. (One might note many similarities between that job and this…) Before that, teaching elementary school.

14. Do you like to clean?
If I’m in the mood. If not, my motivation is order. I like order. In order to have order, one must clean. *sigh*

15. What was the last song to get stuck in your head?
Heart of Glass (Blondie), or maybe Charmed Life (Diana Krall).

16. What’s the last movie you saw?
In the theatre? Ummmm… Can’t remember. On DVD? Love, Actually.

17. Pirates or Ninjas?
Pardon?

18. What is your least favorite thing to do that you have to do everyday?
Dishes.

19. Best time of your life?
SAHM years

20. What are you most looking forward to in the coming year?
Oh, I don’t know. Getting the roof reshingled and repaired so I can stop worrying about leaks, maybe. I know, not exciting. Having the attic ceiling fall in? That would be exciting. I can live without ‘exciting’.

December 21, 2008 - Posted by | memes and quizzes

5 Comments »

  1. I tend to prefer ho hum daily life to exciting myself. Exciting can get expensive.

    Love, Actually – so sweet.

    Ten minutes to get ready, impressive!

    Exciting is going to cost us thousands of dollars next spring. Possibly more thousands, depending on what they discover when they pull up the shingles. Woo.Hoo.

    I don’t shower in the mornings, preferring (particularly in the chilly winter) an evening bath. That helps streamline things!

    Comment by mamacita tina | December 21, 2008 | Reply

  2. The answer to #17 is “ninjas”, of course. But pirates are more fun (at least in fiction). 😀

    BTW, I also like anti-frizz serum and Love Actually (and yes, the lack of punctuation bothers me, too!), and I always encourage my husband to skip Silver Bells when he’s coerced into playing the accompaniment for carol singing. But if I only had to do one chore, it would be the dishes.

    There’s no comma in there? Really? You’ve got me scrambling for the DVD.

    My favourite chore is laundry. Really. I love setting it to chug away in the machine, I like hanging it to dry. (In the winter, it hangs in the basement.) I love the smell of it when pulled from the line (in the summer). I’m not so keen on folding and putting away, but I’d take that part, too, any day, over dishes.

    Comment by Kat | December 21, 2008 | Reply

  3. Grandma got run over by a reindeer, LOL!!!! That will be stuck in my head all day. Have a wonderful Sunday 🙂

    Comment by NurseExec | December 21, 2008 | Reply

  4. I had quite enough excitement this year, so I’m hoping next year is calming and maybe I can regain some order myself after all the chaos! But oh, I love Silver Bells!

    Comment by kittenpie | December 21, 2008 | Reply

  5. Ha! I love your list of hated Christmas songs. There are just so many….less than awesome ones. Also your two job comparisons made me laugh (o:

    Comment by Kristy | December 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a comment