It’s Not All Mary Poppins

It’s all in the eye of the beholder

One learns, in this business, to make no assumptions. None. Adult perceptions are not toddler perceptions. Bear that in mind as you gaze upon Anna’s artwork:

pic1

Completed only 20 minutes ago, and I just had to share it with you. Because I am generous that way. I am also UNflappable. Not a tremor of the voice, not a single snigger escaped me as I spoke to her…

“Well, now. That’s an interesting picture, Anna. Can you tell me about it?”

(‘Can you tell me about it?’ The all-purpose, non-judgmental, non-directive kids-art question. And said, I might point out, in a quiet, gently enquiring tone of voice.)

“It’s my new nightie. It has a fluffy thing at the bottom, lots of pieces of shiny blue dangling stuff.”

“I think that’s called a ‘fringe’.”

“Yes. That’s right. It has a fringe at the bottom. And the shoulders are big and puffy.”

Fringe at the bottom? Big, puffy shoulders? Aha! I was looking at it upside-down!

pic2

It’s a nightie! With a fringe and puffed sleeves. Of course!

What else could it possibly be?

April 28, 2009 - Posted by | Anna, crafts, Mischief | , ,

9 Comments »

  1. What a laugh. Our Unit’s EA is an artist, and I was talking to him about one piece of his art that has phallic overtones. He disagreed, but wasn’t insulted. He made a smart comment about where my mind was. I just showed him this picture and he is ROFLHAO..

    No ‘overtones’ to this picture. Nuh-uh.

    Comment by billarends | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. Snigger…

    And you should have heard her mother snigger at the end of the day…

    Comment by Zayna | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  3. ’Can you tell me about it?’

    Heehee, I can just imagine how perfectly modulated your voice would be as you posed this question πŸ™‚

    Perfectly. Because if you tip your hand, they don’t say the next thing — and that would scupper my blogging, wouldn’t it?

    Comment by Sylvia | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  4. Oh man.

    No, no. It’s a nightie. Weren’t you listening?

    Comment by bridgett | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  5. Wow… it’s nearly… profound. And completely hilarious!

    Comment by rosie_kate | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  6. doesn’t always work though – LMD drew a picture of mummy a few weeks ago. It was a typical 4 yr old’s picture – a head with a face and several limbs sticking out, with various coloured in bits to represent whatever. So I asked that she “tell me about it”.

    “This is mummy’s head. And this is mummy’s arm, and her other arm, and her other arm”

    “O-kaaaay, three arms. That’s nice. and what is this” I innocently asked of what seemed to be a scribbled beard on my chin.

    “that’s mummy’s hairy ‘gina”

    Thanks LMD!!

    Comment by Juggling mother | April 29, 2009 | Reply

  7. Thats just too funny!! I have come across many of those kinds of drawings. LMAO

    Comment by XOXO | April 29, 2009 | Reply

  8. To Juggling Mother – Oh my…I’m laughing so hard I’m crying.

    Reminds me of the time Daughter accidentally walked in on Daddy coming out of the shower when she was about 4 or 5.

    “Wow, Daddy has a really big ‘gina’!”

    I’m no professional, so not only did I snigger but I nearly peed myself from laughing so hard.

    Comment by Zayna | April 29, 2009 | Reply

  9. Wow!

    A nightie!

    Could of fooled me.

    Arlene

    Comment by Arlene | April 30, 2009 | Reply


Leave a comment