It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Ginger-baked Tofu

This is always a hit with the kids. They eat it as finger food, and there are never any leftovers. Cooked 45 minutes, you get firm sticks. Baked longer — as long as 90 minutes — and they get almost crunchy on the outside… but are harder to chew. (I can’t survive in a kitchen without my timer, obviously. Good thing this wasn’t a full-on disaster!)

Ingredients:
Block of firm or extra-firm tofu, cut into 2 dozen sticks.
2 T lemon juice
2 T mirin, or rice vinegar, or rice wine vinegar
2 T soy sauce
2 T oil
1 t sesame oil
1 T maple syrup
1 T minced fresh ginger*
2 cloves garlic, minced
pinch cayenne

Method:
1. Press tofu for at least 30 minutes. (This removes some moisture and makes it absorb the marinade better, but can be skipped. We pressed it. The kids thought squashing the tofu was pretty funny.)

2. Mix all ingredients but tofu.

3. Arrange tofu sticks in a 9 x 13 pan. Pour the marinade over. Let sit for at least an hour (and up to overnight), turning once.

3. Bake in the marinade at 375F for about 45 minutes, till liquid is absorbed.

Can be eaten hot or cold. It’s also nice diced into small cubes and used as high-protein ‘croutons’ in a salad.

*Ginger: Rather than mincing, which is tedious, I prefer to freeze my ginger (scrubbed, but with the skins on). I put smallish pieces (bigger than a cherry, smaller than a walnut) in a ziploc bag in the freezer. When I need some minced ginger, I take a frozen knob, and grate it on a fine grater, skins and all. Perfect!

May 22, 2013 - Posted by | food | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Sounds yummy! My two kids like fried tofu that’s been marinated for a bit in soy sauce, sesame oil & rice vinegar, but I haven’t tried making it any other way for them – I’ll have to try yours!
    I freeze my ginger, too, and grate it, but I’ve always just thrown the whole root in the freezer, then microwave it for a few second so I can hack off a hunk. Can you believe I never thought about cutting it into more reasonably sized pieces first!? I do peel mine though, and the brief nuking does make that easier.

    If you scrub the ginger thoroughly before freezing, and use a fine grater, you honestly don’t need to peel them. It’s sooooo much less nit-picky!

    The dish is very flavourful. The finer you cut your tofu fingers, the higher the tasty-marinade-to-bland-tofu ratio. I always make them the afternoon before and marinate them overnight, turning them just before bedtime. I don’t drain the marinade, just pop the whole tray in the oven and cook. Easy and very tasty!

    Comment by MsHuisHerself | May 22, 2013 | Reply

  2. Thank you, I’m looking forward to giving this a go.

    I hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

    Comment by laineyinthelakeLainey | May 22, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

