It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Why dads rock

How do I love this? Let me count the ways…

1. It’s got the drone that so many babies love. (HOW do babies fall asleep to loud, steady noises? Beats the heck out of me, but we all know those who do. That incredibly annoying whine is probably soothing that kid. He definitely has that pre-sleep glazed look about the eyes. Either that or he’s being hypnotized by the sound. Either way, it’s all good!)

2. It’s steady movement — that the parent doesn’t have to do!! You can sit across the room and read your book while your tot is strolled into submission.

3. It’s ingenius. Top marks for creativity. If you have a drill, and a cheap stroller (I picked up one only this week for under $25), you can do this.

4. Your wife is probably killing herself laughing. WITH you, of course. With you.

5. All the other dads will be SO JEALOUS! Invite your friends over. The men will all talk HP and solder, and the women will snort their drinks out their noses in the kitchen. It’ll be very bonding for everyone.

Of course, you have to have a LARGE empty space in your home. My entire livingroom, even totally stripped of furniture, does not have that circumference. (Maybe someone could rig something similar using a treadmill??) Just like baby swings, you can’t leave the child unattended. I also wonder how long the battery on the drill will last. In my experience, those things aren’t all that powerful. (Granted, my experience with power tools (apart from a sewing machine) is limited…)

Still! GREAT idea, good execution — AND, the most important:

THE BABY IS QUIET, AND LOOKS SLEEPY.

What more could you ask?

via: BoingBoing

November 19, 2008 - Posted by | parenting, random and odd, sleep | , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. That Dad is pure win 😀 Hubby loved it!

    I’m sure he did, and why not? Simple, clever, quirky — and it works! As a DIY baby gadget, it’s a winner!

    Comment by Merrilee Faber | November 19, 2008 | Reply

  2. Love it!

    Me, too! 😀

    Comment by karyn | November 19, 2008 | Reply

  3. OMG seriously, we could have used this for our colicky 1st DS. Tho I lost ALOT of weight walking him in the Ergo and stroller LOL

    My first was colicky, too, and the hours and hours and hooooours I spent pacing. And crying, myself, half the time. Ugh. Those are not happy memories! (Useless hours, too, since she didn’t stop crying for a second no matter how far I paced, miserable wretch poor wee thing.)

    Comment by Sheree | November 19, 2008 | Reply

  4. Treadmill and bungee cords (and don’t forget to use the lanyard, just in case). 🙂

    Make the video and upload it to YouTube, Dustin, and I’m all over that!

    Comment by Dustin | November 19, 2008 | Reply

  5. I’m surprised that this isn’t my own Hub. He will love it.

    If it wasn’t him, I’ll bet it will be now…

    Comment by lisa | November 19, 2008 | Reply

  6. I love it, I just don’t have a room I can empty to use it in!

    Me, neither. And I confess that though I know the child would likely find that noise soothing, it would drive me nuts! So, no automatic drill-powered stroller at Mary’s. But do I love the idea? Heck, yeah!

    Comment by Bethany | November 20, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

