It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Someone…

…keeps parking their stroller in my garden. Okay, not entirely in the garden, just half of it. One wheel stays in my drive. The other laps over into the garden.

Every.Damned.Day.

And every day when I take the tots out, I shift it further back with all the other strollers. And every day I say to myself, “I need to find out whose stroller that is.” (No, I do not know which of the multiple strollers in my driveway belong to which family. Even though I stand out there and watch them load their children into them most days. Yes, I’m that absent-minded.) So every day I tell myself to take note of whose stroller that is. And every day…

I forget.

Of course I do.

(I’ve told you about how absent-minded I am? I must have. Not that I can recall, but I think I almost certainly have.)

But I need to remember so I can tell whoever it is to knock it the heck off.

This evening. I’ll do it this evening! Because my bulbs, people! Take pity on the poor sprouting bulbs!

(And even as I promise myself to remember, even as I attempt to beat my poor frail memory into something approximating working order… in the back of my mind, I’m thinking…

“I should have to tell someone this?”)

April 8, 2011 - Posted by | Peeve me

5 Comments »

  1. You shouldn’t have to tell someone, but leave a kind note on their stroller – even just something like, please ask me something – so you can remember and give those bulbs a chance! I can never ever remember to do things like this so I always write it down. Those flowers need their freedom!

    A note is a brilliant (and obvious) idea! I’d rather speak to them face-to-face, so that my tone of voice can convey kindliness. (Yes, I am mildly peeved, but I won’t let on. It’s not so important I’m going to offend/alienate a good client!) I think I’ll try once more, for I’m rather hoping that blogging about it will make me more likely to remember. But if I don’t remember today, I’ll write the note when I see it in the garden on Monday. Because goodness knows it’s likely to be there! 😛

    Comment by Sarah | April 8, 2011 | Reply

  2. Maybe you should get two signs – one that says “Parking” and one that says “No Parking” and hang them in the appropriate areas!

    Comment by IfByYes | April 8, 2011 | Reply

  3. I vote for a note – too bad you can’t make a quick flower painting project for the kids that you can use as the notepaper…. it would be such a friendly reminder!

    Comment by Jan Indermill | April 8, 2011 | Reply

  4. Did you ask the kids whose stroller it is? I bet they know. When you go outside ask them all to show you which stroller is theirs. (obviously a really little one might be able to tell you, but you could use the process of elimination then)

    Comment by Julia | April 8, 2011 | Reply

  5. Maybe little signs in the garden with pictures of what bulbs are growing. That way you can draw the parents’ attention to it without offending or alienating anyone.

    My bulbs are starting to sprout too and I understand the protectiveness. 😀

    Comment by Sheri | April 9, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

